Top Picks for 2014

Happy New Year good readers! This year I’ve decided to challenge myself by participating in the 50 book pledge. This is a really big goal for me as I’ve never read that many books in 365 days. But I’m also excited as there are a number of new books coming out this year that I can’t wait to read, review, and share with you all! Below are ones that I’m particularly anticipating this year.

the dead in their vaulted arches

The Dead in their Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley

I’ve been following the Flavia de Luce series since October 2013, and after that shocking cliffhanger from Speaking from Among the Bones, I’m particularly interested to see what’s in store for the de Luce family in Alan Bradley’s new book coming out on January 14th.

visions

Visions by Kelley Armstrong

A sequel to Kelley Armstrong’s new series for adults. Her first book, Omens left me with so many questions about Edith Larsen/Olivia Taylor-Jones and her new hometown, Cainsville. I’m hoping her next book which comes out in August 19th will have at least half of my questions answered as Armstrong plans on writing this as a series.

frog music

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue

A new book by Emma Donohague (known for her award-winning novel, Rooms) coming out on March 25th. A mystery with crime and romance, the story begins with the murder of Jenny Bonnet. Her friend, Blanche Beunon, a French burlesque dancer goes out of her way to solve this mystery and make sure that justice is served. But as Blanche investigates, she realizes there’s more to Jenny’s life than she knew as she pieces together secrets of Bohemian lovers, arrogant millionaires, desperate lovers, and broken children.

swan gondola

The Swan Gondola by Timothy Scheffert

Written by Timothy Schaffert is a romantic tale of two lovers set in 1898 Omaha’s World Fair. I’m looking forward to reading this novel as the story has the reminisces of The Night Circus. Ferrit Skirrett, a con artist, falls in love with the enigmatic, Cecily and the two begin a love affair with the World Fair as the backdrop.

cruel beauty

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

A YA book of the fantasy genre by Rosamund Hodge. Based on the fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, this story focuses on our deepest desires and the power to change our destiny as we explore the life of Nyx, who must marry the immortal, Ignifex. Doing so, will help her save her kingdom by breaking the 900 year old curse that he has placed on her people.

sea of shadows

Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

Another YA book by Kelley Armstrong as she begins a trilogy featuring twin sisters, Moria and Ashyn as they are responsible of a dangerous assignment: to quiet the souls of the damned in the Forest of the Dead. But as they venture across strange lands to warn the emperor, they come across a deadly secret that will change the balance of their world forever.

These are just a handful of books that I’m waiting for this year but there will always be more books that I have yet to hear of, so I’ll be keeping my eyes open as I take my pledge to read 50 books in 2014. Wish me luck! And good luck to anyone else who is taking a reading challenge of their own this year.

If there’s any other books you know of that are coming out this year, leave a comment to let me know. I’m always happy to hear recommendations from my good readers!

2 thoughts on “Top Picks for 2014

Leave a Reply

