Top Thursday: Classic Authors I’ve NEVER read

Today’s topic: classic authors I’ve never read from.

TOP THURS CLASSIC AUTHORS

Back when I was in high school, I was never assigned to read from Joseph Conrad or J.D. Salinger in my English classes, but that’s not all. Below is a complete list of classic authors I’ve never read, and as we all have different tastes, please respect mine when commenting.

1. Ernest Hemingway

I’ve never read The Sun also Rises and I don’t intend to.

2. Mark Twain

Shocking isn’t it? Even when I was a child I never read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn or Tom Sawyer. Maybe it had something to do with the vulgar language.

3. George Orwell

No I haven’t read 1984…yet. It’s been on my to-read list for a year now. Just never got around to picking it up and reading it.

4. Herman Melville

Moby Dick, a story about a man’s obsession of hunting the white whale doesn’t interest me in the slightest.

5. Homer

No I’ve never read the Odyssey or The Iliad and I’m probably not going to.

6. Dante

Divine Comedy, an epic poem. But I’m not interested about a man’s spiritual journey from Hell and Purgatory to Heaven.

7. J.D. Salinger

Widely known for his colloquial novel of adolescence: The Catcher and the Rye, and yet I never read his book in English class when I was in Grade 8.

8. Joseph Conrad

I tried reading Heart of Darkness 2 years ago, but I couldn’t get past it. There’s something about Conrad’s style of writing that makes it difficult for me to understand his story.

9. Mary Shelley

I never read Frankenstein.

10. William Golding

Many of you might have read Lord of the Flies in high school, but I haven’t. Lord of the Flies is a story about boys stranded on an island and eventually reverts to savagery, and that’s all I need to know about that story.

Are there any classic authors you’ve never read? I would like to know. =)

Leave a Reply

