Top Thursday: Mystery Thriller Books

I love reading mystery! Whether it’s crime, horror, thriller, or a combination of all three, here are some of my favorite mystery novels that made my spine tingle, blood rushing, and my eyes glued until the last page.

the sweetness at the bottom of the pie by alan bradley

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley 

The first book to Alan Bradley’s new series that got me hooked with the Flavia de Luce character and her ability to seek revenge on her sisters using chemistry. For an 11-year-old girl you’ll be surprised as I was when she discovers a dead body in her garden and handles the mystery using her superb deductive powers and logic. The first book to an exciting series, you’ll love this book and the cast of oddball characters of Bishop’s Lacey.

Red Dragon by Thomas Harris

A definite thrilling read if you don’t mind the psychological craziness. The first book in the Hannibal series introducing the cannibalistic serial killer incarcerated in an asylum, and playing mind games with FBI agent Will Graham while helping him to identify a murderer. I picked up this book after watching the NBC Hannibal TV series and I could feel my blood pulsing and chills down my spine as I read page after page. I couldn’t put the book down and by the time I finished, I was horrified. Not a good idea to read this book before bedtime.

Soulless by Gail Carriger

My friend recommended this when I was looking for a new fantasy book. A mixture of supernatural and steampunk, Gail Carriger adds mystery to the story as Alexia Tarribotti seeks answers to the strange occurrences in the vampire and werewolf community in Victorian London. If you love state-of-the-art gadgets, English desserts, and some erotica then you’ll love this book in the Parasol Protectorate series.

house of silk by anthony horowitz

The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz 

Sherlock Holmes returns with his trusty partner Dr. Watson as they travel around London in search of missing orphan boys. As they dig deeper into this strange case, they suddenly discover a shocking secret that appalls even Sherlock. If you loved the Sir Conan Doyle series as I did, you’ll enjoy this new Sherlock Holmes novel selected by the Arthur Conan Doyle Estate as Anthony Horowitz stays true to the nature of the characters with a case that is scandalous for print…until now.

the body in the library by agatha christie

The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie

I had to add the Queen of Mystery to this list. Widely known as the most published author in history outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare, Agatha Christie marks her place as one of the greatest mystery writers of her time. Because of her Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple collections did I discover my love for detective mystery, and thanks to her I’ve been a fan of the genre ever since.

 

What are your favorite mystery novels? Feel free to share your recommendations!

Leave a Reply

