Review: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

the rosie project by graeme simsion

Published: May 13, 2013

Number of pages: 324

Format: paperback

Publisher: Harper Collins

Genre: romantic comedy

Rating: older adults

Verdict: 5 hoots out of 5

Summary:

Don Tillman is a genetics professor whose mission is to find a suitable partner by initiating the Wife Project, a 16-page questionnaire to find the perfect wife. Rosie is a medical student looking for her biological father that requires the assistance of a genetics expert. Don and Rosie meet and are unsuitable for each other but as Don helps her with the search, he learns a valuable lesson: you don’t find love love finds you.

My Review:

I don’t read romance or romantic comedy books, as they’re not my taste. But this was an exception as I heard such great reviews from bloggers that I decided to give it a try. And I’m glad I did or else I would have missed out on the most hilarious romantic comedy novel I’ve ever read!

I was immediately hooked on the first chapter as I was introduced to Don Tillman, a genius professor in the field of genetics that is socially awkward even in the most casual of social interactions. His character automatically reminds me of Shelden from the TV series The Big Bang Theory! Don is intelligent, clever, charming, and funny. His lack of understanding about social conventions and ability to read emotions can be irritating and catastrophic for others. More than once I rolled my eyes and shook my head in disbelief as even the simplest social behavior can confound Don. But he doesn’t do these things intentionally as Don continues to improve himself and his social behavior as he meets potential candidates for his Wife Project.

The story becomes interesting as we meet Rosie, an unsuitable candidate for Don, as she’s loud, opinionated, a vegetarian, and a smoker. But Rosie becomes the best thing that ever happened to Don as he learns that it’s ok to do things that are not part of your standardized routine. He can be a weirdo and his behavior in social situations are crazy but he’s a loveable character who’s doing his best to improve on his flaws. Don is the most sincere and intelligent man Rosie has ever met, and soon an unsuspected relationship blooms that leaves Don skeptical.

A journey of a man who logically discovers what is illogical to him: love, becomes the funniest story with a lot of laugh-out-loud moments. This was the most delightful romantic novel I’ve had the pleasure to read. I loved the characters and how things turned out between Don and Rosie and the results of the Father Project. I totally recommend this book to everyone including those who don’t read romantic comedies!

My favorite quotes:

“You know what I like about New York? There are so many weird people that nobody takes any notice. We all just fit right in.”

-“You are the world’s more perfect woman. All other women are irrelevant. Permanently. No Botox or implants will be required.”

Leave a Reply

