Top Thursday: Here are Dragons

After watching How to Train your Dragon 2, I decided to write my Top Thursday post on books that have dragons in them. I love reading stories of dragons whether they’re villains or heroes of the story they always seem to captivate me since I was a child. And if you love dragons as much as I do, I highly recommend the following books:

books with dragons

1. Eregon by Christopher Paulini

An entire series of dragon beginning with the adventures of one boy and a dragon hatchling.

2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

Who can forget the first tournament when Harry had to face off with a terrible fire-breathing dragon for the first time?

3. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman 

A world where dragons are math geniuses and can turn into human form at court.

4. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien

Smaug. Need I say more?

5. A Dance with Dragons by George RR Martin

I’m a huge Game of Thrones fan and who wouldn’t want to be the Mother of Dragons. 

6. Eon: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman 

A girl who trains to learn dragon magic comes a story with a mix of dragons and East Asian astrology.

7. Talon by Julie Kagawa 

The first book in a series where dragons are a secret society determined to rule over the human world. 

8. A Creature or Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn

A girl who is half dragon and half human is torn between two worlds.

9. Alice Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll 

Yes, there’s a dragon in here didn’t you know? It’s also been called as the Jabberwocky.

10. Clariel by Garth Nix

A girl name Clariel is facing a lot of problems in her life including her parent’s marrying her off to a killer, trouble brewing between two kingdoms, and to top it all off, a dangerous free-magic creature is loose in the city.

4 thoughts on “Top Thursday: Here are Dragons

  1. I wish books with dragons would get as popular as dystopian books. They’re so majestic! I have been looking for a good dragon series/book since finishing the Eragon series and The Hobbit. Seraphina has definitely caught my eye and I loved Sabriel. I didn’t know the Garth Nix books had dragons. I haven’t read Sabriel in a few years though.

    Like

    • There’s quite a few books that I haven’t read on my list. I’ve got Seraphina but haven’t read it yet. I heard the author is coming out with a sequel next year.

      I haven’t read the Eragon series yet, same with Garth Nix. I have a very long TBR list.

      How was the Eragon series?

      Like

      • I loved the Eragon series! It has some slow parts but overall I thought it was amazing. I really like novels with multiple story lines in them, and when they all connect in the end.

        I have only read Sabriel and I loved it. It’s an awesome high fantasy book. I need to get the others.

        Along with Seraphina. The cover always catches my my attention at the bookstore.

        Like

      • Agreed! I always look at the cover design first before the title.

        And thanks for your comments on Eragon and Sabriel. I can’t wait to start reading those soon. 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

