Review: Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

wicked lovely by melissa marr

Published: June 12, 2007

Number of pages: 328

Format: paperback

Publisher: Harper Teen

Genre: contemporary, fantasy, faeries, romance, mystery

Rating: YA

Verdict: 3 owl hoots out of 5

Summary:

Aislinn has always seen faeries. They are powerful and dangerous creatures and are invisible to the mortal eye, except Aislinn’s. But things change when the rules no longer apply in the mortal and faery world. And soon Aislinn finds herself pushed into their world and everything in her life is no longer the same.

 

My Review:

Have you ever finished a book and suddenly you’re not sure how to feel about it? In scenarios like this you might have asked yourself, “That’s it?” and suddenly you feel so puzzled about what you just read that often you can’t justify if the story is good or not. This is how I felt after reading this book. I’m not sure if this is a bad thing as it could just be one of those books were you have to read it over again to appreciate it a little more. But after some considerable thought, I decided to give it 3/5 as there were some aspects of the story that I did like.

I find the faeries far more interesting than the mortals. But these aren’t your happy Tinkerbell faeries; they are powerful, dangerous, and invisible to the humans except for Aislinn who somehow inherited the Sight, which allows her to see the invisible creatures. It bothers me how we’re not explained how Aislinn is the only mortal who can see these faeries. But as this is the first book in the series, maybe we’ll get more answers about that later on.

Aislinn, a normal school girl evolves into the heroine of the story. She was taught by her grandmother the rules to avoid faeries, like don’t stare at the faeries and don’t ever attract their attention. Aslinn thinks that as long as she follows these rules, she’ll be safe but all that changes when the rules are broken after learning her new fate and how her choice will change the future of faeries and humans. Aislinn is a strong girl and I admire her efforts of keeping her family and friends safe from faeries, but sometimes she can be vapid and indecisive about what she really wants out of her life. And often it surprises me how Aislinn is more concerned about her virginity other than the fate between humans and faeries. As if a possible end to humankind isn’t serious enough.

I absolutely love the evil villain, Beira the Winter Queen. Even for a faery she has a tough exterior and I wish she had more scenes in the story, as she’s such a powerful character. Aislinn is sneaky, deceitful, merciless, and seductive; in other words, she has the qualities of a good story villain. There were a few slow parts that it took time for the story to develop until we reached the ending, so this was definitely one of those books were I had to be patient with the plot.

Overall, I still feel iffy about this book but I’m going to try to read the rest of the series, as it has been a long time since I read stories about humans and faeries. I don’t know why, but faeries always seem to interest me so unless I find another book I’m sticking to reading the Wicked Lovely series.

2 thoughts on “Review: Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

  1. I had similar feelings when I read this book – I read the first one and I just couldn’t decide how I felt about it, really. I meant to continue on with the series to see if that changed, but I got caught up in other books and never did get around to it. With that in mind, I’m eager to see what you think of the rest of the series. I love a good, well-told faerie story, so I’m hoping that the next books live up to the hype.

    Like

    • I’m thinking of the same thing too. This could be one of those series where the hype builds up later in the books. And I’m definitely going to finish reading the series as long as I’m not too distracted from reading other books! =P

      Like

Leave a Reply

