Review: Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Published: April 23, 2012

Number of pages: 487

Format: paperback

Publisher: Harper Teen

Genre: fantasy, romance, Greek mythology

Rating: YA

Verdict: 2 owl hoots out of 5

Summary: 

Helen Hamilton spent her entire life hiding how different she is from her unusual height to her inhuman speed. But when she turns sixteen, Helen starts to have nightmares of desert walks and three women weeping in blood. Although things turn worse for her when she meets Lucas Delos, a new boy at school whom she has the unstoppable urge to kill.

My Review:

I had a hard time getting into this book, as the story didn’t appeal to me because of the flat characters and bad dialogue that had me screaming in frustration. First of all, let’s meet Helen. Poor Helen is a high school girl trying to get through semester with jeers and insults by popular cheerleaders and honor students who either think she’s a freak or that they’re better than her.

Then we meet a lot of characters in which some of them didn’t make a difference to the plot like her high-maintanence friend, Claire who has a habit of getting in other people’s way. But out of everyone, I had major issues with the main character: Helen Hamilton. She whines a lot about her personal life and relationship with Lucas. After learning about their family history, I can understand now why the book is called starcrossed. Helen and Lucas are like Romeo and Juliet but with demigods and Furies and a thousand year unbreakable curse that is jeopardizing their romance.

So far the only change I’ve seen in Helen is that she becomes inhumanly stronger, faster and possesses unbelievable qualities while learning to control them. More than once, there were moments when I wanted to shake Helen and scream at her for the terrible decisions she makes, and her way of thinking in making those choices didn’t make sense. Honestly, I find it hard for me to like a series when I don’t even like the main character.

For those of you who like me, do not like cheesy and/or bad dialogue I must warn you that there are comments like “unbefrickinglievable” and “holy hand grenade!” On the other hand, I did have fun chuckling at these goofy comments including the lovey dovey dialogues started by Lucas that had me laughing out loud.

So there you have it. Three reasons why I gave this book a 2/5. I could have given it a 1 but I added to the rating just because of the funny dialogue. You’re probably wondering by now why I read the book and that’s because I’m a fan of stories with Greek mythology in them. And as this book has just that I decided to buy a cheap copy. I also have the sequel but after reading Starcrossed I’m a little hesitant to finish the series.

Leave a Reply

