Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

the kiss of deception by mary pearson

Published: July 8, 2014

Number of pages: 486

Format: hardcover

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

Genre: fantasy, romance, love triangles, supernatural, magic

Audience: YA

Rating: 3 owl hoots out of 5

Summary:

Princess Lia, 17 years old, flees on her wedding day to avoid marrying someone she doesn’t love to secure a political alliance. Fed up with her old life in court, Lia runs off with her friend and maid, Pauline where they find a new home in Terravin. But the past has a way of finding her as Lia is unaware of being chased by an assassin and a prince. Deceptions begin and a romance blooms but not without hiding secrets from one another. Soon Lia finds herself wrapped up in these secrets but not before falling helplessly in love while trying to get her new life together.

My Review:

This is another talked about book I’ve been hearing about since its release. My library had a copy so I had no regrets borrowing it. After reading it I would definitely recommend it to those who absolutely love romance stories plotted in a fantasy setting, and with complex characters including back stabbers, murderers, and a prince and a princess.

The story is told in 3 different points of views: the princess, the prince, and the assassin. Each of them giving us their perspective of what happened in an event, but the story was still easy to follow without getting lost in each of their POV (point of view). Throughout the story I honestly didn’t care enough about the prince, as I was more interested in the assassin. He had this mysterious and dark side of him I couldn’t resist and neither did Lia. I loved how we’re introduced to his back-story as we get to learn a little more about his history although most of it is still hidden in the dark. Even after I finished the book, I still wasn’t clear as to which side he was on but that’s part of his character.

I was little disappointed that the prince didn’t get a much larger role in the story until the very end where his actions led to a gasping cliffhanger that had me yearning for the sequel! As for Princess Lia, I like how she’s so true to herself without allowing anyone to change her into someone she doesn’t want to be. Lia seems so grounded but she also knows when to leap into action during times of peril, and still protect her friends by putting herself first.

I loved how the chemistry between the characters builds up slowly with intense breathing moments and thrilling dark secrets that made the romance even more exciting. I won’t say who the romance is with or else that will spoil the love triangle that is the central plot in this story.

If you enjoy stories with love triangles then I recommend this book to you. I on the other hand, I’m not a huge fan but I still enjoyed reading just because the mystery behind the stolen books that Lia stole and her gift was enough to for me to turn the page and see what happens. I only wish that the author elaborated more on Lia’s gift since that looks like the key to the schism between the houses: Morrighan and Delbreck. So hopefully we’ll learn more about that in the sequel.

Leave a Reply

