Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

hollow city

Published: January 14, 2014

Number of pages: 396

Format: hardcover

Publisher: Quirk Books

Genre: fantasy, time travel, romance, mystery, horror

Audience: YA

Rating: 4.5 owl hoots out of 5

Summary:

Jacob Portman and his new peculiar friends are on a journey to save Miss Peregrine by going to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Hopefully they’ll find a cure for their beloved headmistress but there are wights to fight against and hollows to defeat as the children travel from loop to loop. As Jacob helps his friends to a safe journey, he must make a decision that might affect his relationship with Emma Bloom.

My Review:

I’m relieved to finally have read this sequel as I’ve been putting this one off for too long since I read the first book last year. I’ve been saving this was one for the feels read-a-thon last week and when I finished, I was left with so many questions thanks to that incredible cliffhanger.

There are two things that I loved about the story. We see more of the peculiar world AND there’s time travelling! I mean who doesn’t like time travelling with a bunch of peculiar children with peculiar abilities? As Jacob and his friends jump from one time loop to another we meet new peculiars and uymbranes. This gives us a larger view of the peculiardom that helped me learn more about their world and the way they live together. Even though we meet a lot of new characters, I was still able to follow the storyline without loosing focus but I’m interested to see how they will make comeback in the next book. I find stories that deal with a lot of time travelling, it’s easy to get lost but that wasn’t the case here as the children made it clear to what year they were in.

And how about the fight scenes!? Oh my gosh they were so intense as we see the kid’s true potential of using their abilities to the fullest. I was really impressed with Hugh used his army of bees to save his friends and Brownwyn, a girl with tremendous strength but is a motherly figure to all the kids was one of their biggest advantages. I couldn’t possibly think how things might have turned out if Brownwyn weren’t there for the kids as they enter deeper into wight territory.

The most heart-rending scene on the other hand, was between Jacob and Emma when they were discussing their future together. Why can’t these kids be happy? But with Jacob’s life in the present and the never-ending battle against wights and hollows, I can understand his struggle at choosing what kind of life he wants. Normal or peculiar? But in the end everything changes and the story ends in suspense, and we can only wait to see what happens to the peculiar kids in the next book.

The only thing that I wasn’t so impressed with was the black and white photographs. The photos in the first book were really creepy and went well with the text. The photos in this sequel worked just as well but many of them were pretty plain. My only favorites were the strange portraits of the peculiars. I really hope that his next book comes out soon because I can’t wait! And what’s the deal with Jacob’s abilities? Questions, questions…

Leave a Reply

