Top Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own Yet

Top Tuesday banner

I’ve started a list like this a couple of times before for Top Thursday, but now I’m switching that weekly event to Top Tuesday.

Top Tuesday is started by the Broke and the Bookish and is a feature/weekly meme. Today’s Top 10 list is books that I want but don’t own yet and is different compared to my pervious Top Thursday lists.

1. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton 

I found out about this book from one of my book buddies on Instagram.

Why I want to read: apart from the beautiful cover, I love reading books on magical realism and mythology.

2. Rogues by George RR Martin

Cat of Little Book Owl included this one in her book haul video. It’s an anthology for sci-fi and fantasy fans with short stories by Neil Gaiman and George RR Martin.

Why I want to read: any story from Neil and George are bound to be good!

3. A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

Before its release, quite a few book bloggers have already read the ARC. It’s a contemporary romance with a story told in 14 point of views! That’s a lot of POVs.

Why I want to read: I enjoy reading contemporary romance once in awhile. And this story centers on a couple that everyone from the barista to their creative writing teacher agree that they are meant to be together. I’m intent on reading this one because I never read a story with that many POVs before so I’m interested to see how it comes together.

4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I’ve been hearing so many great things about this one from the book blogging community. I’m probably the only person that hasn’t read any of Rainbow Rowell’s books yet.

Why I want to read: If I had to choose which one of her books I read first, it’ll be Fangirl just because the story sounds funny and quirky.

5. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

The story sounds fairy tale but for older adults.

Why I want to read: the story is intriguing. A couple builds a child out of snow and comes to life as a girl who hunts with a fox by her side, so they take her in as their daughter. But after they adopt her, the grown ups learn something about the girl that changes all of their lives.

6. A Love Like Blood by Marcus Sedgwick

It’s been a long time since I read a book about vampires and the cover caught my eye while browsing at a Chapters bookstore.

Why I want to read: the story is a dark, compelling thriller about a man who witnesses a vampire’s first kill in Paris and years later, finds him again dining with a group of women so he follows them. Creepy. 

7. Hector and the Search for Happiness Francois Lelord

After watching the movie trailer and learning that the film is based on the book, I immediately searched for it.

Why I want to read: once upon a time there was a psychologist names Hector who was not happy with himself. So he decides to travel around the world researching what it is that makes people happy while finding his own. 

8. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins 

Another contemporary romance that I’ve heard so much about.

Why I want to read: besides the fact that so many bloggers have already read the series, I don’t think I’ve ever read contemporary romance for younger adults and it’s a romantic story set in Paris! Can’t get any more romantic than that.

9. Unnatural Creatures by Neil Gaiman

Another anthology by Neil Gaiman. This has been on my tbr for a loooonnng time. Basically I’m on a mission to buy all of his books!

Why I want to read: it’s from Neil Gaiman! 

10. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell 

At first I thought she only wrote teen fiction but after her new book Landline came out, I learned she writes for older adults too.

Why I want to read: as quoted from the goodreads synopsis “hi, I’m the guy who reads your email, and also, I love you…” Romantic and awkward! Love it!

 

Have you read any of these? Also tell me what books are on your top list so I can search for them!

Leave a Reply

