Top Tuesday: Top Ten Books that were Hard for Me to Read

Top Tuesday banner

Top Tuesday is a weekly meme/event hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s fun topic: books that were hard for me to read. I can interpret this in different ways from subject matter, writing style, to the book was just plain cringe worthy. And sadly, I have read books that made me want to throw across the room.

So without further ado, here are top ten books that I had a difficult time reading but still survived from. After writing out this list it suddenly dawned on me that these are books that were hard for me finish because they were cringe worthy. Well here it goes…

1. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

When I first saw how thin the book is I thought “this would be an easy read.” Boy, was I wrong! I didn’t get pass chapter one as I couldn’t even follow the character. After five pages I just gave up.

2. Dark Witch by Nora Roberts

My first book I read by the author and I picked this one up when I heard it’s a new fantasy series with a steamy romance. The romance was there but the character dialogue was cheesy, and the battle between good and evil witches wasn’t enough to draw me into the story. I didn’t even bother to read the sequel. 

3. The Chaos of Stars by Kirsten White

I automatically borrowed a copy from the library after learning about the Egyptian mythology influence in the story. I’m starting to feel like a sucker for mythology books.

4. Something Blue by Emily Giffin

This was before I started reading books I actually liked and since I never read chick-lit novels before, I wanted to give this one a try. And oh my gosh how I dreaded the main character in which all she does is whine, bitch, and whine and the ending was too much like a fairy tale ‘happily ever after.’

5. Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger 

I read The Devil Wears Prada, and watched the movie several times, but the sequel was definitely not what I expected after reading the first book. The author put way to much emphasis on describing haute couture clothes and stylish interior designs, and I had the feeling that she wrote this book just for the movie rights. I was really disappointed with this one.

6. Hannibal Rising by Thomas Harris

I started reading the Hannibal books last year after watching the NBC Hannibal series. Red Dragon was intense, Silence of the Lambs was incredible, but Hannibal Rising didn’t live up to its predecessors. Later on I learned that the author only wrote the book because a producer was planning on making an origin story with or without the author. How sad. And the movie was just as bad. 

7. Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

If you’ve been following my blog, you might have remembered my review for this puppy eye romance of a story with more cheesy but laugh out loud dialogue, and a heroine who keeps nagging way too much. It’s hard to read a series when the main character is unlikable and I regret buying the sequel. Now I’m stuck reading the series.

8. Hector and the Search for Happiness by Francois Lelord

A monotonous narrator and a flat character who can’t even write diligent notes that aren’t even worthy for psychology research.

9. The Rise and Fall of Great Powers by Tom Rachman

When I started reading this book my eyes started to glaze over in the first few chapters and I quickly lost interest in it. This one I felt like one of those love it or hate it books or it could be that I was reading it at the wrong time. Either way I’m still adding this book to the list because this was definitely one that was hard for me to read.

10. Northanger Abby by Jane Austen 

I bought a box set of all her books and this was one that I least enjoyed because nothing really happened in the story.

 

Read any books that were hard for you to read?

One thought on “Top Tuesday: Top Ten Books that were Hard for Me to Read

Leave a Reply

