Waiting on Wednesday: Clairel by Garth Nix

Waiting on Wed banner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly topic hosted by Breaking the Spine where book lovers share new releases that we are all excited for. Today I’m waiting on Clariel by Garth Nix.

clariel by garth nix

I’m probably the only one who hasn’t read Garth Nix yet but that will soon change as I’m patiently waiting for my copy of The Abhorsen Chronicles to arrive, which includes all three stories: Sabriel, Lirael, and Abhorsen in one volume! What I love about his books is that unlike other series, you don’t have to read them in order, and each story has an incredible world building with rules of magic that exist in the Old Kingdom. I first heard of the series from the ladies of Epic Reads who announced that Harper Collins was coming out with new editions of Abhorsen with exquisite and eye-catching cover designs. Ideally I would buy a series one by one, but since the release of The Abhorsen Chronicles I decided to get the volume instead.

Here is the summary of the fourth book in the Abhorsen series, Clariel:

Sixteen-year-old Clariel is finding it hard to adjust well in the city of Belisaere, the Capital of the Old Kingdom. She misses exploring strange forests and if her life couldn’t be miserable, Clariel feels forced to obey everyone including her family, her maid, and the Guildmaster Kilip. But the city is also disintegrating with a Free Magic creature on the loose within the city walls. Soon Clariel has a chance to prove herself but as soon as she grasps at the opportunity, things are out of control and she finds herself trapped once again. Clariel is eventually drawn into unraveling dark secrets until help arrives, but with an unlikely source. 

Why I want to read: everyone who has read and re-read the Abhorsen series has continued to rave about the books and I like to get in on the action. How I didn’t hear about these books when I was in high school is beyond me but at least I have a chance to buy the new covers.

Clariel comes out on October 14 and is available for pre-order at Chapters Indigo and Amazon.

 

What book are you waiting on today?

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Clairel by Garth Nix

  1. Ah, I didn’t realize it was out already! I loved the Abhorsen series and I’ll HAVE to get my hands on a copy! I think you’ll enjoy the series, it’s full of kick-ass, realistic female protagonists and some really cool, dark magic. Hmm…thinking about it I’m feeling the urge to go back and reread them!

    Like

    • Yup the new book is out but I want to read the chronicles first before I read his new book. I’ve heard so many great things about the author so this is a must read for me!

      Like

      • Yeah, I’d deffo read the whole trilogy first- ahhh you’ve got such an exciting time ahead of you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

