Top Tuesday: Ten Places Books have Made Me Want to Visit (whether fictional or not)

Top Tuesday bannerTop Tuesday is a weekly meme/event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is places that made me want to visit whether they are real or fictional. This is an easy one as one of the main reasons why I love reading is to explore new worlds, new places, and imagine what it would be to travel to distant lands, meet people or magical creatures, and have a grand adventure.

1. Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry in Harry Potter

Who doesn’t want to go to Hogwarts? An ancient castle with movable stairs, a crazy poltergeist, talking pictures, and hidden entrances to secret places! I just have to be careful not to find my way into the Chamber of Secrets.

2. Middle Earth in Lord of the Rings

I would love to visit the world of Middle Earth after the war in Mordor of course, as I don’t want to bump into ogres, dark riders, or worse, Sauron. Reading Tolkien’s detailed descriptions of the beautiful Elvan realm, Rivendell to the white city, Minas Tirith and watching Peter Jackson’s vision of this other world come to life is absolutely spell bounding!

3. New 2 aka New Orleans in Gods & Monsters

Mardi gras parties, masquerade balls, beautiful Victorian architecture, what’s not to love about New 2? After reading Ari’s adventures in this paranormal city I wouldn’t mind visiting a town full of history and the supernatural. Although I might have to tread wisely when going out in the night on the town in case there are vampires around.

4. Londonium in Flights, Chimes, and Mysterious Times

Little boy Jack crosses over to Londonium, a steampunk world of London where everything is made out of steel and metal. With floating dirigibles, metallic animals that can live and breath, there’s so much to see in Londonium. Although I would just go there to see a metal fire breathing dragon!

5. Faerie in Stardust

A world inhabited by faeries! That pretty much says it all.

6. Victorian England

I’ve been reading plenty of books set in this era and if I had my own time machine, I would travel back to that period and dress in the height of fashion, stop by at the Crystal Palace Exhibition, and just enjoy the sights and sounds of Victorian London.

7. The Night Circus from The Night Circus

A circus that only opens at dawn until dusk with magic shows by real magicians with real magic! The world building that Erin Morgentern creates is magical in its own right. I never have been to a circus before so a trip to a night circus sounds really exciting.

8. Eretz in The Daughter of Smoke and Bones

I want to come here and meet a real life angel. That is my only reason.

9. Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing School for Young Ladies of Quality from Etiquette & Espionage

I don’t think I will do well in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing School as I’m afraid I will not survive their espionage lessons. I’m not good at covering my own tracks or throwing a butter knife like a weapon, but I would love to board a floating dirigible and learn what it takes to be lady of quality.

10. Egypt in The Chaos of Stars

I didn’t love the book and the story was awful but it did confirm my desire to visit Egypt one day and explore the pyramids, the Great Sphinx, and gaze upon the beautiful murals of ancient gods and deities.

 

What places from books would you like to explore?

Leave a Reply

