Waiting on Wednesday: Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge 

Waiting on Wed banner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event by Breaking the Spine where book lovers discuss new releases that we are all excited about. Today I’m waiting for Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge. I’m a sucker when it comes to attractive covers but as the old saying goes don’t judge a book by its cover, right? But after reading the synopsis and her first book, I’m a little intrigued as to how Rosamund writes another fairy tale inspired story based on Little Red Riding Hood. Thanks to Epic Reads for the cover release by the way!

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

I can’t help but notice that the story sounds eerily similar to Cruel Beauty but with heroine who dons a red cloak and a quest that involves finding a lost sword with a boy she really hates. Here’s the summary:

Fifteen-year-old Rachelle was apprenticed by her aunt to practice magic and protect her village. But she can also be a child, exploring the woods and finding ways to protect her home from darkness. Three years later, Rachelle begins to serve the king who orders her to protect his son, Armand, a boy she dislikes. But then the two form an ally to find a legendary sword that has the power to save their world from dark magic. As the two journey together they uncover conspiracies, lost magic, and an unlikely romance.

Why I Want to Read: Honestly I wasn’t impressed with Cruel Beauty but I still liked the story, I just didn’t love it like everyone else did. And this is one of those things were the cover design immediately grabs my attention that I am now tempted to pick up the book and read it. Yes I am sucker for that as not all well-designed covers guarantee a good story. But I’m still adding this to my TBR for next year as I do love reading fairy tale retellings.

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge releases on May 5, 2015.

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge 

  1. Haha, I kind of want to read it for the same reasons as you. That cover… Wow, I just can’t stop staring. I still haven’t read for first book in this world/series, so I have to get to that soon. But that and my obsession with retellings pretty much guarantees I’ll pick it up at some point. Cool choice!

    Here’s My WoW.

    Like

    • Her first book Cruel Beauty is pretty good. The world building is vivid and filled with imagination. I just didn’t like the princess very much as she wasn’t as likeable compared to the Beast. I would still recommend the book especially if you like reading fairy tale retellings like I did. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

