Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust by Alan Bradley

Waiting on Wed banner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine where book lovers share their anticipated new releases that we are all excited for. And today I’m waiting on As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust, the seventh book in the Flavia De Luce series!

As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust by Alan Bradley

I love love LOVE Alan Bradley’s series! It was two years ago that I started reading The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and I was immediately hooked. Flavia’s character is exactly how critics describe her “Harriet the Spy meets Agatha Christie” although I like to see her as a young female Sherlock Holmes. She has the brains of a chemist and a sleuth giving her all the makings of a pint size detective with a quirky sense of humor. I fell in love with her character and I can’t wait to see how she grows up during the series as she unfolds a new chapter in her life after The Dead in the Vaulted Arches.

What I love about the series is that I never get bored with the story as every mystery is just as exciting as the next. Nothing is ever a dull moment at Bishop’s Lacey and inside Buckshaw, there is a dark history behind the De Luce family as Flavia continues to investigate her family’s secrets.

Here is the synopsis of As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust which comes out on January 6, 2015.

After the return of her mother’s body recovered from the Himalaya’s, Flavia moves out of Buckshaw and into Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy in Toronto where she learns more about the mysterious organization called the Nide. But by the time she arrives to begin her first day at the academy, a corpse falls out of the chimney and lands inside her room starting an investigation connected to the disappearance of girls from the school. 

The last time I was this excited is after reading Harry Potter so I’m really enjoying the new series! But I strongly advise that you read the first book to understand the backstory of Flavia’s mother, Harriet. You can pre-order the seventh book on Chapters Indigo and Amazon now.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s