Review: My True Love Gave to Me Edited by Stephanie Perkins

my true love gave to me edited by stephanie perkins

Published: October 14 2014

Number of pages: 321

Format: hardcover

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre: Christmas themed, family and friends, relationships, romance

Audience: YA

Rating: 3/5 owl hoots

Summary:

If you love watching holiday movies and Christmas classics than you’re going to love this collection of holiday short stories written by twelve best selling young adult authors.

My Review:

I’m going to be honest here, I’ve only read books from one out of the twelve authors and that’s Laini Taylor. I started reading Rainbow Rowell but those are the only authors I’m familiar with so I pretty much read this book without any expectations. I have never read a holiday story before not even A Christmas Carol, so I took pleasure of burrowing this at the library for Christmas.

My experience with anthologies is that there will always be stories that you like and dislike. The Lady and the Fox was one story in the dislike pile were the plot didn’t make any sense to me at all and didn’t seem very Christmassy either. The plot was a bit muddled and in the end it kind of fell apart without some explanation or a background to better understand one of the central characters. In the end I was like “what the heck did I just read?”

Stories that I did enjoy included It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown which I thought was pretty cute with the puppy love. But the best holiday story was The Girl who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor that had the same story telling essence in her books. While reading this one I couldn’t help but reminisce about The Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and this is the first short story I’ve read by Laini (one of the reasons why I wanted to read this book).

I’m withholding from ranting about every story so I’m just going to end this by saying that this book was a hit and miss for me. There are some that were memorable and others not so much. I did like how the characters in every story has their own Christmas tradition but after finishing this, I was glad to have borrowed it from the library rather than buying it at Chapters.

I finished this book last month during the holidays so my sincere apologizes for not posting this earlier. I’ve been on a blogging slump for too long and I’m doing my best to return back to my normal schedule. It’s already a challenge just to find time to blog after returning to my full-time job, but I’m still committed to bringing my readers up to date reviews whenever I can!

Leave a Reply

