Review: Jackaby by William Ritter

jackaby by william ritter

Published: September 16, 2014

Number of pages: 294

Format: hardcover

Publisher: Algonquin

Genre: mystery, supernatural, occultist

Audience: YA

Rating: 3/5 owl hoots

Summary:

Abigail Rook has just arrived to New Fiddleham, New England where she meets R.F. Jackaby, an investigator of supernatural cases. Looking for a job, Abigail is hired to be his assistant and in good timing too, as Jackaby is called to investigate a strange case involving the work of an inhuman creature. A serial killer is on the loose and only Jackaby, with his gift of noticing the unordinary can stop him from getting loose.

My Review:

I’ve never watched Dr. Who but I do love BBC Sherlock, so when I heard that this book was “Dr. Who meets Sherlock” I was like “OMG I gotta read this!” and 1 second later I added it to my Goodreads list. So you can imagine how excited I was after buying it at Chapters.

Jackaby has all the characteristics of Sherlock with his extraordinary way of seeing things and is often made fun for his weird personality and appearance. Abigail Rook is finding a place to stay and a job to sustain her while she’s in New Fiddleham. She’s like a female Dr. Watson without the medical knowledge, but she makes a pretty good assistant while getting used to her companion’s eccentric lifestyle.

There’s so much to love about Jackaby! He’s intelligent about the supernatural, witty, charismatic, and clever. While reading I could picture Benedict Cumberbatch from Sherlock and how he could be the perfect Jackaby because that’s all the character reminds me of! He makes jumps that no one else can explain and leaves the law enforcement dumbfounded, but he only makes those jumps because of the evidence that can’t be seen by ordinary eyes. And let’s face it Jackaby is no ordinary man but a supernatural investigator who should never be underestimated by the norm.

Speaking of which, the narrator Abigail Rook makes a strong heroine as the girl has guts to stand up against the most dangerous villain in the story (and with only a book in hand!) Abigail is brave and has the makings of the perfect assistant even if it means withstanding Jackaby’s strange roommates and his odd behavior at home. But the chemistry between the two is funny and its clear that they both need each other as Abigail has a place to stay and Jackaby is accompanied by a clever female assistant who is more useful than he thought.

I absolutely loved the charismatic characters, the compelling mystery, and that ending! If this weren’t a series that would have been the perfect way to end a book, but I guess there’s nothing wrong with having to read more of Jackaby and his adventures. The hunt is on!

2 thoughts on “Review: Jackaby by William Ritter

  1. I loved this book too. I bought it at a book festival in Austin. Right when i saw the cover i knew i had to read it! I love how quirky Ritter writes. I would find myself laughing to myself as I was reading this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

