Top Tuesday: Top Books you Would Classify as ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS in the Past 3 Years

Top Tuesday banner

Top Tuesday is hosted weekly by the Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday book bloggers are invited to share their top lists and today’s topic is all time favorite books!

This is one of the toughest lists to make up as I have so many favorite books. Do I choose from genre, author, series, cover, what???!!! Selecting your favorite books is like choosing what limbs to live without with so how can I possibly choose from which ones to make it on this list? It has to be from the last 3 years so that sort of slims down my choices and we’re talking about all time favorites here so these are books that you want to read over again and keep in your shelves forever, while swearing to never sell or give them up to anyone because you’re afraid to see what condition they will be returned to. So after some careful thought here is my top 5 all time favorite books.

  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: I’ve never been a huge fan of contemporary romance but this book was more than that. Everything about the story reminded me of my early years in university and why we love reading fan fiction!
  2. Jackaby by Wiliam Ritter: a sci-fi and supernatural thriller inspired by Dr. Who and Sherlock! I love the character Jackaby and was happy to hear that a sequel was coming out. I hope to learn his back-story soon.
  3. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: this was my first Gaiman book that had me hooked from start to finish. By the time I started reading I couldn’t put it down. I tried a couple of times but failed because the story was that freaking good!
  4. The Dead in the Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley: I love the entire series but this was the best book as it serves a change of events for Flavia de Luce as she grows up, and for the first time travels to Canada!
  5. Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth: a historical fiction story inspired by the classic fairy tale, Rapunzel. But this isn’t like the Disney story at all! There’s desire, seduction, black magic and a remarkable story told by an imaginable young woman after banished from the royal court in Versailles. The story is so detailed that I can imagine every scene and I loved how it was told by three different women, each of them playing an important role as the plot crisscrosses from one story to another.

What are your top 5 favorite books?

3 thoughts on “Top Tuesday: Top Books you Would Classify as ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS in the Past 3 Years

  1. I know what you mean about Fangirl- contemporary romance is normally a genre that really doesn’t work for me, but everything about the book is so warm and funny that I fell in love with it (and it’s on my list as well)

    Like

Leave a Reply

