Waiting on Wednesday: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Waiting on Wed banner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where book nerds share newly anticipated books that we are all excited for. After last week’s cover reveal for an exciting new book by the author famously known for Fangirl, I am happy to announce Carry On by Rainbow Rowell! Was anyone else squealing with excitement besides myself with the cover revealing? It’s very different to the design of Fangirl, which was cute and simple, but this cover is so colorful and illustrative that it’s very eye catchy. I love it!

carry on by rainbow rowell

Why I’m Waiting: I loved reading Fangirl; it was my first Rainbow Rowell book. I remember feeling nostalgic and thinking back to my college years when I felt so out of place that I often wondered if I could make it out alone like Cath. After reading excerpts of Cath’s fan fiction, I wondered what her whole story would be like if it was in book form. I think many of us fan girls (see what I did there) would love to read Simon Snow, and eventually Rainbow picked up on it and announced that she is coming out with a Simon and Baz story! Thank you Rainbow Rowell!!

Now for the story:

Simon Snow just wants to relax during his last year at the Watford School of Magicks but there is too much going on his life right now. He broke up with his girlfriend, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor insists on hiding Simon away in the mountains for his safety. But what’s really bothering Simon is the fact that his roommate and nemesis has gone missing and he can’t stop thinking about it. There are also ghosts, and monsters, and a lot of evil things that are giving Simon a hard time because when you’re the most powerful magician in the world, you never get the chance to relax or savor anything good.

I think many of us can pin point the similarities between Simon Snow and Harry Potter but that is what makes this book so intriguing. But Carry On is also a love story with lots of melodrama and mystery that are Rainbow’s special traits, and after reading Fangirl, I am eagerly anticipating her next book just to see how Simon and Baz’s relationship began and evolved in the Watford School of Magicks.

Carry On is dated to release in October 2015.

You can add it on Goodreads and pre-order on Chapters Indigo

One thought on “Waiting on Wednesday: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

