Top Tuesday: Top Ten Books I will probably Never Read

Top Tuesday banner

Top Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and today’s list is top ten books I will probably never read. I like to be honest here and say that I absolutely hate making this list. I have a lot of unread books in my bookcase that remain untouched and many times I will say to myself, “I will read this book one day.” But after looking at these books right now I can tell that the day will probably never come…at least not for a long time. The reason is because there are too many new books that are on top of my priority list, and sadly these books will always remain at the bottom of my TBR list. It’s a sad story but as long as they remain in my bookcase there will come a time when I will one day pick up these books and actually read them. And I will keep this vow for as long as I live because I refuse to leave any books untouched and unread!

The Demon Trapper's Daughter (The Demon Trappers, #1)

1. The Demon Trapper’s Daughter by Jana Oliver

I don’t why I bought this book but for some reason I did. I can’t say much about this one because I never heard of her books but based on the synopsis, it sounds very Buffy the Vampirish about a girl who traps demons for a living somewhere in the near future.

The Summoning (Darkest Powers, #1)
2. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong 

In previous book lists I mentioned that I will read her Darkest Powers series but I think it’s time to realize that I won’t be doing that for awhile. I have read Kelley’s other books such as the Cainsville series for adults but I don’t think I read her YA series yet, aside from Sea of Shadows which I wasn’t too impressed with unfortunately.

The Dark Monk (The Hangman's Daughter, #2)

3. The Dark Mark by Oliver Potzsch

The sequel to the first book The Hangman’s Daughter which was pretty good. This is an historical fiction about a Bavarian hangman and his daughter solving strange cases in their village. I’ve been putting off this series for too long and it’s about time that I finish reading it soon. Maybe if I’m in the mood for something historical I’ll pick this one up again (I hope).

Horns

4. Horns by Joe Hill 

I was supposed to have read this before the movie came out starring Daniel Radcliffe. But none of my theaters were showing it so I have no idea what happened. That’s too bad because I love watching Daniel Radcliffe and if it were showing in my neighborhood, then I would have read this book already. But now it will just have to wait.

Fragile Eternity (Wicked Lovely, #3)

5. Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr 

Another unfinished series! Argh! But I have a good reason for putting this off. The first book Fragile Things didn’t impress me so I was in no hurry to read the rest of her series. However I heard that you didn’t have to read them in order! Is that true? Does anyone know?

A Dirty Job (Grim Reaper, #1)

6. A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore 

This was a birthday present from last year. Not that I have anything against the person who gave it to me, I just don’t see myself reading this one. I tried reading his new book The Serpent of Venice but ended up DNFing it because I didn’t like his writing style.

The Peculiars

7. The Peculiars by Maureen Doyle McQuerry 

After reading the synopsis, this sounded strangely familiar to the Miss P trilogy by Ransom Riggs, except that it’s set in a steampunk universe. I’m in no hurry to read this one because I’m waiting for Ransom’s last book to come out first before I read anything else peculiar.

Dreams and Shadows

8. Dreams & Shadows by Robert Cargill 

Not sure what made me buy this one except that it was half off, and for the life of me I can’t even remember why I even bought it!

The Moonstone

9. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins 

A classic mystery in which I started reading at one point, but then I put it down and decided not to read it at that time. Again, not sure what happened.

Faery Tales & Nightmares

10. Fairytales & Nightmares by Melissa Marr 

This is a collection of short stories by the author herself. I guess I picked this one up after starting her Fragile Things series without realizing how far it will take for me to actually read her books. This one is sadly on the bottom of my TBR pile.

After looking at this list again, I don’t feel so hateful anymore. We all have books that are on bottom of our TBR pile and although some of us feel sad for leaving them there for so long, we can only hope that one day when the time feels right, we might actually read those books. It sounds unlikely but we can only hope…or if you wanted to take the easy way out, give them away as gifts or sell them at your local bookstore. At least your TBR pile will be smaller!

Leave a Reply

