Waiting on Wednesday: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Waiting on Wed banner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where book nerds share newly anticipated books that we are all excited for. Today I’m waiting for The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. By now you heard of this title by booktubers and bloggers who were lucky enough to get the ARC, and it was by them that I first learned about this book. Here’s the synopsis that I wrote myself:

Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khoresan takes in a new bride only to have her executed at sunrise. It’s a strange mystery to Shahrzad, a sixteen-year-old who volunteers to marry Khalid, and after she does Shahrzad manages to concoct a plan to survive and seek vengeance on her best friend’s death. But as she lives through the night to carry out her plan, something unexpected happens…Shahrzad falls in love with the very boy who killed her best friend.

the wrath and the dawn by renee ahdieh

Why I’m waiting: I haven’t read a good YA fantasy romance in a long time, or at least I think this is fantasy judging by the synopsis. I think the last time I read a story like this was Cruel Beauty Rosamund Hodge where the heroine marries a beast to save her kingdom, only to be falling in love herself. But this story sounds different, I mean the concept seems similar but there is nothing in the synopsis that explains why Khalid kills his new brides. I find this so strangely mysterious that I am intrigued to read this book when it comes out on May 12. And did I forget to comment on the cover? I did? Ok because that cover is beautiful!!

The Wrath of the Dawn is available for pre-order on Chapters Indigo and add it on Goodreads

By the way! It’s my birthday today! Yeah happy birthday to me! *sings birthday song* Can you guess what I love about my birthday? Getting books! Hahaha!

One thought on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

