Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne of glass by sarah j maasPublished: May 7 2013

Number of pages: 404

Format: paperback

Publisher: Bloomsbury UK

Genre: high fantasy, assassins, mystery, romance, faeries, magic

Audience: YA

Rating: 3.5/5 owl hoots

Find it on Goodreads | Chapters Indigo

Summary: 

Sixteen-year-old Celaena is serving a life sentence in the dark mines of Endovier. She is a trained assassin and the best one until she makes the mistake of getting caught. But then Celaena meets Captain Westfall who makes her a deal: her freedom in return of representing the prince in a deadly competition where she must face off with other assassins. Live or die, Celaena will be free and will discover her true destiny as the competition nears…

My Review: 

Throne of Glass is one of those books that are most talked about in the booktuber/bookblogger community. Almost everyone I know has read this series and after hearing all the rave reviews about it, I decided to add it to my TBR. I wasn’t planning on reading this series soon until I found a second hand copy of all three books at a local bookstore. So I said to myself, “why not?” and I bought the first book to see how the series stood up to its fame, without realizing that I would come back to the store again and buy book 2 and 3. Long story short, after reading halfway through Throne of Glass I was immediately hooked and understood why everyone loved this series! Why oh why did I not start this series earlier like everyone else?

I loved the first book! Full of mystery, suspense, betrayals, and a trained assassin with a heart of ice and a will of steel. Celaena has one opportunity to freedom but to even get there, she has to compete with other assassins to win the title of King’s Champion. But for an assassin that has a cold and wicked exterior she has a soft side for puppies and really loves her candy. But I love that about Celaena Sardothian is that she has this softer, sweeter side of her that you don’t normally see until you get to know her a bit more, and she has a love for books (which I thought was a bonus to her character). Celaena has the qualities of a heroine that I admire, and I love how the romance between her and the prince doesn’t happen so suddenly. Instead Sarah allows the chemistry breath and lets their feelings speak for themselves. The romance between the pair builds up and after that cliffhanger we are still left with a hopeful feeling for them.

I also enjoyed the world building of Endoviar and Adarlan as we learn more about the history behind the countries and the magic that was once forgotten. I didn’t expect to read about faeries and fae magic, as there was nothing in the synopsis that suggested otherwise, but I like stories that surprise me as it makes it more interesting. I also like how Sarah focuses more on the character backstories and the relationships so that we have an understanding of their profiles. The characters are compelling, complex and carry more deep dark secrets then you think.

The writing is descriptive and we are introduced to multiple subplots without the story being too convoluted. Sometimes I had to be patient and wait for something interesting to happen, but Sarah writes so well that we savor the small moments and still enjoy the story as a whole. And how about that freaking ending?! The intense battle scenes and the fight between light and dark magic was so exciting that I couldn’t take my eyes of the page, and the it finished with a satisfying cliffhanger and a opening to the next sequel.

I’m giving Throne of Glass a 3.5/5 because I want to read the sequel next before I give this series a higher rating. But so far, this was a good first impression so I’m excited to read Crown of Midnight next.

Leave a Reply

