Book Haul- May Edition (part 1):

Introducing my first book haul posting! I bought and received so many books last month that I wanted to share them with you and I will be doing this on my blog every month depending on the number of books I buy.

So last month two big things happened: it was my birthday and birthdays can only mean one thing, books books books! The other big thing that happened is a Chapters Indigo store in Vancouver was having a closing sale where everything was 50% off! I repeat 50% off on all the books in the entire store! When I first saw this news on Twitter I instantly went mad and made a dash to the store to get my hands on books that have been burning on my TBR for a long time. It was a good thing I went there on their first day of their storewide sale or else the good books would be gone.

May Bookhaul part 1

The result of both events led to a ginormous book haul this year, and thanks to the Chapters closing sale this is the last time I go on a shopping spree for books. Seriously I’ve never spent so much money on books, and because I have a lot from last month’s book haul, I will be splitting this post into two parts. So keep an eye out for part two tomorrow.

Here are books that I bought at the Chapters closing sale and there were reasons why I selected these. Bitter Greens and Speaking from Among the Bones I already read but didn’t own a copy until now. I reviewed both books and loved them, and now that I have Alan Bradley’s fifth book my Flavia de Luce series looks complete (although this series is still ongoing). Last year I bought Madman’s Daughter so it made sense to buy Her Dark Curiosity and A Cold Legacy. I haven’t read this series yet but I swear I will in June. I swear it! Bone Gap is a magical realism story for YA that I heard about and I always wanted to own Unnatural Creatures too. This is a collection of short stories selected by Neil Gaiman and I absolutely loved the illustrations inside. I also grabbed two children’s classics: The Secret Garden and The Nutcracker.

Overall, this was a pretty good haul and I’m proud of my selection. I have no regrets for the money I spent but it’s not like you see this opportunity often. I will miss my Chapters bookstore, as it’s the biggest bookstore in Vancouver (three storeys!). The good news is that they are moving to a new location but it might be smaller.

Stay tuned for my May Edition: part two!

Leave a Reply

