Top Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Tuesday bannerTop Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish and today’s topic is hyped books that I haven’t read. This is a really good topic as 1) there are plenty of hyped books that I haven’t read/bought/borrowed and recently came out, and 2) I have thoughts about hyped up books, especially when my experiences with them don’t usually turn out well.

The following sums up my experience with overhyped books that fail to impress me: stage 1: I get really excited to read a book because of the buzz I heard before the publication release, only to be expected to be blown away like everyone else. Stage 2: when I finally have the book in possession, I push all my other plans away and just start reading the damn thing. Stage 3: after 100 pages I get worried, then irritated, then hopeful that the story and/or characters will pick up, then really worried, and annoyed at the end. This has happened to me before when hyped books don’t turn out to be as good as the hype around them.

I have gone wary about reading hyped up books that now I am at the point where I don’t buy them but borrow a copy from the library. If it turns out to be really good do I bother spending my dollar on it, if not then at least I don’t have regrets borrowing the copy from the library. But I had positive experiences where I read hyped books that turned out well too (eg. A Darker Shade of Magic which turned out better than I expected).

Here are 10 hyped books that I haven’t read (and bought) yet:
A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas:

I don’t think I have any problems buying this one as I’ve started reading her Throne of Glass series. I am in love with the series so far but I have plans to finish it first, before I start her new book.

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)

2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir 

I have heard nothing but positive reviews on Goodreads but after reading the synopsis, I’m unsure if I want to buy this one. The story sounds interesting but it doesn’t sound like something that I’m into. I think I feel safe just borrowing a copy from my library.

The Fault in Our Stars

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green 

This was a hyped book from last year before it turned into a movie. I heard so many comments on Twitter about how the story made them cry and hug their loved ones close to them. This definitely sounds like a heart wrenching and emotional story and I am prepared to loan a copy from my library, as I have no plans on buying this book.

Not because I’m afraid to cry but reading stories about a cancer girl who is afraid to fall in love is not my forte.

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard:

I have heard nothing but mixed reviews about this book. Many reviewers commented on how they were not impressed with the story so this falls under my wary-to-read list.

The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1)

5. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh:

This is a retelling of A Thousand Arabian Nights and has received nothing but positive reviews on Goodreads too. Although the story sounds really intriguing I still want to borrow this book and see how it turns out for me.

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)

6. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins:

This is a popular contemporary and romance series that is still being talked about today. Since I have plans to read more contemporary over the summer, her books are already on my TBR.

Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1)

7. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover: 

I already borrowed a copy from the library. Almost everyone I know has read a book from the author, and since I heard positive comments about this book, I decided to start with this as my first introduction of the author.

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles, #2)

8. The Heart of Betrayal by May E Pearson:

Her first book The Kiss of Deception was also hyped about last year when it came out. I read it but wasn’t compelled to the story like everyone else was. Overall it was ok but I wasn’t pulled into reading the series so I am definitely going to borrow this one from my library, but it’s not on my priority reading list.

Go Set a Watchman (To Kill a Mockingbird, #2)

9. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee: 

One of the most talked about books of the year! I am already waitlisted at my library but I must read To Kill a Mockingbird first as I haven’t read it since high school.

Magonia

10. Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley: 

I am conflicted on whether I should buy a copy or not. On the one hand, Neil Gaiman has already praised this story but on the other, I read mixed reviews on Goodreads. Although I just remembered being waitlisted to get this book from my library so if it turns out well, I might go and buy it afterwards.

What hyped books haven’t you read yet?

2 thoughts on “Top Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. I’m still on the fence about Go Set a Watchman. I only just started reading To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time ever, so I don’t have all the happy feels about Harper Lee’s writing that everyone else seems to have.

    Like

    • It’s definitely one of those books that doesn’t appeal to everyone. I haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird in years so I don’t have any context to back it up. I’m intent on reading the sequel just to see how it is, which is why I’m getting a copy from the library. It’s a long waitlist for the book so I have plenty have time to read To Kill a Mockingbird

      Like

Leave a Reply

