Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

the madmans daughter by megan shepherdPublished: December 6 2013

Number of pages: 420

Format: paperback

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Genre: science, gothic, mystery, romance

Audience: YA

Rating: 5/5 owl hoots

Find it on Goodreads | Chapters Indigo

Summary:

Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London after her father’s scandal that ruined her life. Working as a maid she learns to survive on her own, but she can never forget the rumors about her father. But when Juliet learns that he is still alive, she travels to the tropical island to determine if the rumors are true. Accompanied by her father’s assistant, Montgomery, and a castaway, Edward, Juliet travels to the island only to discover something horrific: her father is experimenting on animals so they can resemble humans. Juliet must end her father’s scientific discovery and escape the jungle before it is too late.

My Review:

Do you love mad science, mystery, a passionate romance, and an independent heroine who doesn’t give an eff of what anyone else thinks of her? Then you will love this story as much as I have! For the life of me I couldn’t even peel my eyes off the page as I was completely absorbed into this story. The incredible plot, the characters, that intense bone chilling plot twist, AND THAT FREAKING ENDING! There is so much to love about this book that I am trying really hard not to write this entire review in all caps.

The story was inspired by the gothic classic The Island of Dr. Moreau by HG Wells. I have never read the classic but after finishing this book, I should. Juliet Moreau is a sixteen-year-old girl living in London with a complete disregard to high society. She isn’t one of those dainty girls with etiquette and class, rather she doesn’t give a damn about being a society girl much to her father’s annoyance. Juliet is a grounded character but also wild and reckless, and I like seeing those qualities in her as it made me admire our heroine. She really doesn’t give an eff what anyone else thinks about her and it’s that kind of bad-ass attitude that makes her more admirable.

There is also a love triangle but it is very hot, steamy, and full of surprises especially when the handsome gentleman isn’t what he turns out to be. I am speaking of Edward Prince, a castaway that Juliet and Montgomery find during their voyage to her father’s island. Edward is handsome, clever, and a kind gentleman who openly expresses his feelings and becomes protective of Juliet. The more I read about him, the more I wanted to ship Edward and Juliet together because they were both compatible until that heart breaking plot twist that almost had me in tears! Speaking of tears, the story ended in the most gut wrenching way possible that strangely enough I liked, as happy endings can be so boring.

The story had me on the edge of my seat that as soon as Juliet and Montgomery sail away to her father’s island, I was completely drawn in from the mad science experiments to the mysterious beast, and the most passionate love triangle I have ever read! I loved how Megan built up the intensity of the plot which made it impossible for me to put down the book, the closer I got to the ending, the more I had to keep reading to see what would happen between the characters. And that whooping oh-my-god-I-didn’t-see-that-coming plot twist totally blew me away and left me in shock that after finishing the book, I felt so numb because I couldn’t stop thinking about that ending!

After reading the first book, I wished that we could learn more about Dr. Moreau and how he became madly obsessed into experimenting with animals, but as I read the sequel after it looks like that it will be explored deeper in the last book. I am already a fan of Megan Shepherd and her series is becoming one of my favorites this year! Stay tuned for my next review for Her Dark Curiosity!

Leave a Reply

