Waiting on Wednesday: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

Waiting on Wed bannerWaiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Every week bloggers share new books that we are eagerly anticipating, and this week I am waiting for Queen of Shadows, the next book in the Throne of Glass series.

There is no doubt that Queen of Shadows is one of the most anticipated books of this year! Throne of Glass has become one of my favorite high fantasy series and I’m so glad I started reading it this summer before the fourth book came out. The moment I finished the first book was love at first sight. The romance, the sub plots, the character stories, the fae and the magic, I loved it all that I slowly found myself devouring the series. I can’t believe it took me so long to discover this series; before I saw the books making their rounds in Instagram and in booktube videos that finally I decided to give in. To my surprise, I found the UK paperback edition of the first three books at a second hand bookstore. After buying and reading Throne of Glass I quickly ran back and bought the last two books. I was so lucky to find the series second hand but in still good condition!

Now enough rambling, here is the synopsis for Queen of Shadows from Chapters Indigo:

queen of shadows by sarah j maasFormat: hardcover

Published: September 1 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Press Agency

Pre-order on Chapters Indigo | Add in Goodreads

Everyone Celeana Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s returned to the empire with a vengeance and to rescue her kingdom, while confronting the shadows of her past. Celeana has accepted her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen but she must fight for her cousin before claiming her throne. She will fight for her friend and her people enslaved to the king.

Celeana has come a long way since she left the salt mines of Endovier. From a prisoner to a King’s Champion, Celeana has gone through a long and epic journey: finding romance, new friends and enemies, discovering secrets and political betrayals, and long lost magic. I love Sarah’s writing and how she builds this unique world with so many complex layers and characters. Instead of following Celeana’s story, we’re also following Chaol’s and Prince Dorien’s journey; it’s like reading three stories at once.

I started reading Heir of Fire and I’m looking forward to finishing it this month before Queen of Shadows comes out on September 1. Can’t wait to see what happens next in Celeana’s chapter!

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

