Review: The Beach Café by Lucy Diamond

the beach cafe by lucy diamondPublished: June 3 2011

Number of pages: 486

Format: paperback

Publisher: Pac Macmillon

Genre: romance, contemporary, friendship

Audience: adult fiction

Rating: 4/5 owl hoots

Find it on Goodreads | Chapters Indigo

Summary:

Evie Flynn has always been the black sheep in her family, a dreamer and a wanderer but never making a name for herself compared to her over achieving sisters. Now she’s stuck in temp hell with a half decent boyfriend…until her beloved Aunt Jo dies and she suddenly inherits her beach café in Cornwall. Determined to be successful, Evie heads off to Cornwall to get her café and life back on track, but she gets more then she bargained for…

My Review:

One of my favorite summer reads this year and the best contemporary romance stories I’ve really enjoyed! I can imagine bringing this to the beach, while basking under the hot sun and drinking mimosas under an umbrella. But this is perfect for a staycation read too and what a terrific way to end the summer holidays with a really great romance set in a beach café.

It’s rare to find a fictional character to relate to and surprisingly, I found it easy to relate with Evie Flynn and all her woes in her personal life. Evie is a thirty something year old who is a dreamer and a drifter, wandering from job to job but not making a name for herself, which is how she became the black sheep in her family. I know how it feels like to be stuck in a rut as I have wandered between jobs and not getting anywhere, and I too have older siblings who’ve become more successful that I often feel overshadowed by their achievements. Both Evie and I are black sheeps in our family, but the only difference between us is the beach café.

After her Aunt Jo dies, Evie inherits her beach café in Cornwall and so she decides to run it. Does Evie have management experience? No. But has she ever cooked or baked before? No. Does Evie let that bother her? Hell no! Evie’s got guts and as opposed to her sisters, she also has her aunt’s spontaneity and recklessness to keep her going with the café. She refuses to be like her sisters and decides to run her life her own way. I love Evie’s carefree attitude, her free spirit, and how she’s always thoughtful towards others. I admired her determination for not backing down regardless of how her sisters berate her for making a huge mistake of taking over the café that all I wanted to do was support Evie on this amazing journey that she was taking on by herself.

I love seeing how the romance builds up naturally between Evie and Ed. Ed has this mystery behind him that makes him alluring but he’s very supportive, sympathetic, and funny. Ed and Evie met by chance as he makes brief appearances at the café before helping her with the business. After that they begin as friends but you could tell there is some chemistry going on. I was pretty peeved at Ed for not trusting Evie with his secrets, especially when he got upset with her for absolutely no fault on her own. I honestly thought he was over exaggerating before he stormed off without giving Evie a chance, making her feel like she screwed things up, while really it was the reverse.

I was also upset how some neighbors in Cornwall were so judgmental of Evie without getting to know her first, but after running an amazing café, even I was impressed on how far she’s come with the business, proving everyone that even a black sheep can turn over a new leaf. In the end, everything fell into place so neatly that my heart melted, and I was so moved of how the community was supportive with Evie that I almost fell into tears because it reminded me how important friendship is. A really great summer read and I highly recommend this book if you’re looking for a romantic contemporary.

Leave a Reply

