Waiting on Wednesday: Library of Souls + Beastly Bones

Waiting on Wed bannerThis is the longest WoW blog post I’ve ever written.

Today is a very special Waiting on Wednesday. I don’t have one but TWO new releases that I’ve been anticipating since last year! These new books have been on my TBR forever and I’m a huge fan of both series. So you can imagine how excited I was when I learned that both books are released on the same day, which makes September 22 a very important and exciting day!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Every week bloggers share new books that we are eagerly anticipating, and this week I am waiting for Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs and Beastly Bones by William Ritter. Here are the synopses for both from Goodreads:

library of souls by ransom riggsFormat: hardcover

Published: September 22 2015

Publisher: Quirk Books

Pre-order on Chapters Indigo | Add in Goodreads

One of the most anticipated books of the year!

Time is running out for the peculiar children and Jacob Portman and Emma Bloom must find a way to stage the most daring rescue missions to save their friends and Miss Peregrine from a dangerous madman. Travelling to war-torn landscapes and meeting new allies, they will face the greatest dangers they’ve ever encountered in their lives. But the bigger question is: will Jacob turn into the hero the peculiars expect him to be? And with all new 50 photographs!

 

Ritter_BeastlyBones_jkt_COMP.inddFormat: hardcover

Published: September 22 2015

Publisher: Algonquin Books

Pre-order on Chapters Indigo | Add in Goodreads

In 1892, New Fiddleham, New England, things are never the same or normal when Abigail Rook continues to be Jackaby’s new assistant. Called upon to investigate the supernatural, the pair discovers a strange case that involves shape-shifters in disguise as kittens, with their owner found dead the next day.

Then dinosaur bones from a recent dig are missing in Gad’s Valley and an unidentifiable beast starts attacking people and animals, leaving only their bodies behind. Charlie Cane, exiled New Fiddleham police detective, calls on Abigail for help and soon she and Jackaby are hunting down a thief, a monster, and murderer.

I will never forget the day when I first came across Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children at Superstore for a bargain price, and after flipping through the black and white pages I immediately went to checkout and bought it. After finishing I went in search for the sequel: Hollow City after it came out, and to my luck I found it for another discounted price at my independent bookstore. Since then, I’ve been a big fan of the trilogy and it’s too bad I can’t go to the book tour this month to celebrate Library of Souls because I’m in Canada!

Then not too long after, I heard about a new debut book Jackaby tagged as Sherlock Holmes meets Dr. Who. I’m not a Whovian but I am proud Sherlockian and I love reading Sherlock inspired stories! I picked up the book last fall and read it, and the above tagline really does fit the description of the story, but also our main hero, R. F. Jackaby who has an interest in the supernatural and solves related cases with esteem logic and reasoning. Half Dr. Who and half Holmes, Jackaby is one of the most enjoyable characters I’ve read! He has the qualities and behavior of Sherlock that I loved, and the eccentric personality of Dr. Who. I can’t wait until the sequel comes out!

Leave a Reply

