Ten Books to Read if you Love Sherlock Holmes:

Top Tuesday banner

*I just realized that I uploaded next week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic. Sorry for the confusion! Next week I will upload My Fall TBR*

Top Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish and this week’s topic is a recommendation of books to read if you love Sir Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes. I chose this series after finishing Every Word by Ellie Marney, it’s a YA contemporary mystery introducing James Mycroft, an English teenager living in Melbourne, Australia with a tragic childhood and later developed an interest in criminal forensics. He has a high degree of intellect, a wicked sense of humor, and a short temper that usually leads to explosive behavior. In other words, he’s like the teenaged version of Holmes but goes to high school in Australia.

So after reading Every Word, I decided to write a recommendation post of books with characters inspired by Conan Doyle’s famous English detective. There are also books that are new to the list as they haven’t been released yet.

1. Every Breath by Ellie Marney 

This is actually the first book before Every Word. I read it last year and loved the sizzling romance between James Mycroft and Rachel Watts! The first book was more romance then mystery, but the sequel is definitely a step up and was way more intense and heart racing then I anticipated!

2. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

I love Flavia de Luce she’s like Eloise meets Harriet the Spy but with an impressive knowledge of chemistry and deductive reasoning, which makes her a mini Sherlock Holmes but with a passion for poisons.

3. Jackaby by William Ritter

Jackaby is a supernatural detective, half Sherlock Holmes AND half Dr. Who! 

4. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

This is new book that comes out next year, and is a YA contemporary mystery based on the A Study in Scarlet.

5. The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz 

This was a new Sherlock Holmes pastiche and continues the adventures of Conan Doyle’s Holmes and Watson. I didn’t particularly like the child molestation scenes but Anthony Horowitz certainly captured the true essence of Holmes’s character.

6. Art in the Blood by Bonnie Macbird 

Another new book that recently came out this month. This time after Holmes receives a letter from Paris, he travels to Europe to find a missing child, only to discover a trail of murder. 

7. The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Glasson

I have yet to read the book after I bought it. This is a YA light steampunk story about two young women who are descendants of Stoker and Holmes. Before I thought this was a stand-alone until I learned that it’s a series thanks to Goodreads. 

8. Murder at the Orient Express by Agatha Christie 

I had to add the Queen of Mystery on this list because her characters: Miss Marple and Mr. Poirot are the most famous long-lived detectives in history. Sure they’re fictional but Christie drew inspiration from Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes.

9. A Slight Trick in the Mind by Mitch Cullin

I first heard about this title after the UK movie starring Ian McKellen who plays a retired Holmes who reminisces his latest case, while looking back on his life. I don’t think the movie has come out in North America, but after hearing about it I’m intrigued to read the book that it’s based upon.

I could only think of 9 books to add onto this list, but if you know any other Sherlock inspired books, feel free to add them to your comments! I love Sherlock Holmes so I’m always looking for a good recommendation too!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Ten Books to Read if you Love Sherlock Holmes:

  1. A Study in Charlotte is a new release YA about the great-great-grandkids of Watson and Holmes, which looks pretty fun! As well as Lock & Mori about 2 teens solving a mystery and romance is brewing! A nice twist is Mori[arty] is a girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s