Top Books to Movie Adaptations I’m looking forward to:

Top Tuesday bannerTop Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish and this week’s topic is books to movie adaptations that I’m really excited for in the next year. I love watching movies based on books, especially before I read them because nothing is more fun than watching our favorite titles come to life on the big screen, except when the Hollywood bigwigs start mucking it up of course.

There are some bookish films coming out this year and below are the most exciting new adaptations that I’m really looking forward to at the theatre!

1 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 

YES YES YES! Love the books and was super excited when I heard that Ransom Riggs got the movie rights! Tim Burton directs it AND big stars like Asa Butterfield and Samual L Jackson are going to be in it! Oh my gosh I can hardly wait until next year! 

2. Fantastical Beasts and Where to Find them 

It’s a spin off of the Harry Potter series and JK Rowling is helping with the production part of it so you know it’s going to be good. 

3. The Queen of the Tearling 

I thought the first book was a pretty good start to the debut series, and when I heard that Emma Watson was going to play the main protagonist, I was psyched. She’s such a talented actress and I can’t wait to see how she embodies Princess Kelsea and Emma’s going to help product it too! From what I heard, Emma couldn’t put the book down and having asked to be featured in the film was a huge compliment for her.

4. Beauty and the Beast

Something about Disney making live action films really irritates me for some reason, but this is an exception because 1) Emma Watson will be playing the part of Belle, and 2) I absolutely love the story and I wouldn’t mind seeing this in live action; although the classic animated film will always be better in my opinion. I wonder if they’ll add a song and dance number too? 

5. American Gods

So this isn’t actually turned into a film, but it is going to become a TV series. It’s probably on a network that I don’t have (basic cable sucks) but it is one of my favorite Neil Gaiman books regardless of all the WTF moments that threw me off the curve and had me guessing the whole entire time until all the missing pieces finally fell into place at the end. This is one of the most bizarre stories I’ve read and that I enjoyed, and I was happy to hear that Brian Fuller who also directed my favorite TV show NBC Hannibal (another book to TV adaptation that didn’t deserve the axe), was chosen to direct American Gods. Knowing how well he directed Hannibal I just know that he’s going to do a really good job of this!

One thought on “Top Books to Movie Adaptations I’m looking forward to:

  1. Emma Watson seems to have quite the range of films lined up – looks like she’ll be starring in a couple of intriguing adaptations! It’s always strange to see adaptations of beloved childhood films – I’m curious to see Emma Watson as Belle, but I will miss the singing kitchen tools! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

