Ten Books I’m Thankful For:

Top Tuesday banner

Top Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish and this week’s topic is ten authors that I’m really thankful for this year. The purpose of this topic is to celebrate Thanksgiving this week; I’m in Canada so our Thanksgiving is in October but this month, our American neighbors will have their turn with the turkey and trimmings and to think about the things that they are thankful for and feel blessed with.

I like to think about the authors whose books I had the pleasure to read this year. Without these wonderful and talented authors, who knows what the literacy world would be like without their words, their stories, and their imagination? I feel so blessed having to read their books this year and I will always look forward to another opportunity of re reading their stories anytime.

 

1. Neil Gaiman

Hands down he is one of the greatest storytellers this world has ever seen. He’s written children’s stories, adult fiction, sci-fi, fantasy, graphic novels which many of them had won awards for and adapted into movies and TV series. From Coraline to American Gods, he is a literary treasure!

2. JK Rowling

I will always remember the day when my sixth grade teacher read The Philosopher’s Stone to my class. Before I didn’t read much fantasy but then JK Rowling’s world of wizarding magic changed that for me forever and I’ve become a fan of fantasy ever since.

3. Sir Conan Doyle

I first read Sherlock Holmes after university when I had more time to read. After reading the adventures of the world’s only consulting detective, I’ve been a fan of mystery and detective, and I’ve never missed an episode of BBC Sherlock either. 

4. JRR Tolkien 

The Lord of the Rings are an instant classic; ever since Peter Jackson made them into films I started reading the trilogy. It took a really long time finishing the books, but Tolkien has a way of describing the world of Middle Earth in rich detail and fantasy authors will always be influence by his stories today.

5. Gail Carriger

The day my friend gave me Soulless was the day I became a fan of Gail Carriger, and it was also the day where I was drawn into the world of steampunk. I read both her series: Parasol Protectorate and Finishing School, and she is one of the most beloved and witty authors I’ve had the pleasure to read!

6. Agatha Christie

Before Sir Conan Doyle I read Agatha Christie thanks to my sister’s recommendation when I was searching for a light mystery read in high school. She is the Queen of Mystery and I am so thankful for her amazing stories; they make great light reading!

7. Charlotte Bronte 

In University, I had the opportunity to read Jane Eyre for my own enjoyment. It wasn’t for a class but I particularly had the pleasure reading about a woman’s growing independence as she learns to become her own person. I’m so thankful for Bronte to write a classic story about feminism and womanhood. This is a very important English classic!

8. Edgar Allan Poe

One of the most horrifying and gothic writers in English literature whose stories continue to inspire authors with classics such as The Red Death and the epic poem The Raven.

9. Rainbow Rowell

I am thankful for her writing a coming-of-age story about a girl starting out as a freshman and making it through her personal life by writing fan fiction, and for writing a meta story based on Harry Potter! She is an amazing contemporary author and I’m thankful for her writing stories that inspire imagination and us.

10. Alan Bradley

One of my all time favorite Canadian authors that I’m thankful for! I love reading the adventures of Flavia de Luce and I am so thankful to have accidentally coming across his first book The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. Afterwards I binge read all five books in the series until the next one came out. I love how Alan Bradley has created a heroine who is half Sherlock Holmes and half Harriet the Spy!

One thought on “Ten Books I’m Thankful For:

Leave a Reply

