Top Books of 2015

 

IMG_0204

There is only 3 more days before 2016 and as everyone is planning to celebrate the coming new year with parties and booze, I am reflecting my year in 2015. I admit that 2015 wasn’t a great year for me. I failed to obtain a permanent job and was unemployed all summer so I’m hoping 2016 will bring in new possibilities for me as I continue my job search, but the year also gave me the opportunity to spend time with my blog and reading many great (and not so great) books. I feel proud with the selection of titles I read this year that I narrowed down my selection of top books of 2015. Here’s to another great year in reading and finding a job too so I can continue buying more great books!

 

1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

My first book by the author but not the last! I had a lot of fun reading Fangirl and was happy to hear that she was coming out with Carry On which is like a spin off to the Simon Snow series.

2.A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab

One of my favorite fantasy series this year and I’m eagerly anticipating her sequel next year!

3.Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

It was fate that I found this series at a used bookstore and in the UK paperback edition. I haven’t read Queen of Shadows yet and after looking at how thick it is, I’m going to have to dedicate some time in reading it next year.

4.Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

One of my reading goals this year was to read more diverse books, and this is a great story touching on the subject of LGBT and bullying that I recommend for everyone to read as we need to see more diverse books for younger adults.

5.The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I don’t normally read middle grade books but this was an exception because Neil Gaiman wrote it! I love how the story is not just about a boy living in a cemetery, but his journey in life and in growing up. If you haven’t read it yet, I recommend that you do!

6.The Strange and Beautiful Sorrow of Ava Lavander by Leslye Walton

One of the best and saddest stories that almost made me shed a tear in the end. It’s also a disturbing story that touches on rape and sexual assault, but trust me, it’s a great story and the author’s writing is so mesmerizing, you just want to read and not stop until the end.

7.American Gods by Neil Gaiman

This is the most unusual story I’ve read this year. It’s so bizarre and just…weird. The plot doesn’t make sense at first until the ending when all the pieces fall into place. But wow, what a rollercoaster ride it was reading this strange story!

8.The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd 

My favorite trilogy and the only one that I finished reading in one month! What else can I say except that I freaking love the story! And the romance. And the love triangle! 

9.Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

I new series that I had the pleasure to read and will look forward to the sequel next year!

10.Every Breath by Ellie Marney

If you love Sherlock Holmes, and mystery, and Aussies then you’re going to enjoy this series! Although I enjoyed the sequel more as it quickly escalates the plot and ended with a new beginning to my favorite Aussie couple.

11.The Library of Lost Souls by Ransom Riggs

The last book in a peculiar series! I can’t believe the series has come to an end, but at least there is the movie to look forward to next year!

Leave a Reply

