Stacking the Shelves #2

IMG_0188 copy

Stacking the Shelves is all about sharing your books that you added whether it’s physical or virtual (ebooks). This includes books that you bought physically or online, borrowed, reviewed, and received as gifts! This week I bought some exciting new titles, and yesterday was the best day yet as I went to one of my favorite bookstores in Vancouver. The Book Warehouse at West Broadway is best known for selling books at a bargain price and many of the titles they carry are cheaper compared to Chapters Indigo. I spent more time at Book Warehouse than I expected after coming across books that were on my TBR for a while and were on sale for $10! But I was strapped for cash so I narrowed my purchase down to two. I already spent $40 last week at Chapters Indigo so I didn’t want to go over my book budget for this month.

I’ll Give You the Sun is one of the most talked about books since its release. Everyone I know has read it and commented that it’s one of the best books they have ever read. It’s also the book of the month for the YA Book Club at Chapters in Metrotown so I decided that it’s high time that I finally start reading it. I also love the paperback cover than the hardcover; it’s more abstract and colorful with the quote from the story.

xo Orpheus: Fifty New Myths is a collection of short stories by authors (that I never heard of before to be honest) featuring characters from myths all over the world. I absolutely love reading myths retold by characters from different cultures and traditions including Greek, Roman, Aztec, you name it!

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. I love reading Hercule Poirot mysteries and I do enjoy a cozy reading once in a while. At first I had a hard time selecting which Agatha Christie book to get because they were all on sale, but I chose this one in the end because the story sounds a little more thrilling with murder, suicide, and secret love affairs.

This will be my last post for Stacking the Shelves this month as I spent $57 on books alone. One of my goals for this year is not to break my book budget each month and breaking my TBR pile at the same time. See you in February!

Leave a Reply

