Stacking the Shelves #3

IMG_0188 copy

In my last post, I mentioned how I was going to be more self-conscious with book buying after finding out that I spent $57 last month. I can’t afford to spend too much or else I’ll just end up with too many unread books, and I have enough of those in my bookcase. Just watching my growing pile of unread books really stresses me out, I’ve got a few books that I’ve been dusting off since two years ago and are still left unopened. So I’m starting a ritual where I’m buying books that are not only cheap, but I plan on reading for certainty, compared to books that I think I might read one day, when they will most likely be left forgotten.

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga Reviews, and is all about sharing your books that you added whether it’s physical or virtual (ebooks). This includes books that you bought physically or online, borrowed, reviewed, and received as gifts! Last weekend, I walked into Book Warehouse and found to my surprise, the paperback edition to Melissa Meyer’s acclaimed series on sale! Well…just the first book Cinder was on sale but it’s a start, especially since everyone on social media has been recommending this series to everyone.

So I thought this was a sign that I should give this series a chance, I never had an interest in the sci-fi genre but I am trying to get into the habit of reading something new, something outside my comfort zone. I decided to start with Cinder and who knows, maybe I’ll end up enjoying it like everyone else did and if I don’t, then I won’t feel guilty since I paid half the price. Despite the uncertainty, I’m looking forward to reading the first book as I do love fairy tale retellings so that’s a bonus.

I also picked up Dumb Witness, another Agatha Christie novel. I love collecting her books since I fell in love with her writing and her stories. They make great light reading when you’re in the mood for a cozy mystery and nothing a little too intense or thrilling. I don’t think I’ve read Dumb Witness before, but the story sounds intriguing especially when there is a dog with a speaking role. Hercule Poirot’s cases never cease to amaze me and they never fail to comfort me after a reading slump.

Leave a Reply

