February Bookhaul + Wrapup:

Last month wasn’t the greatest reading month. I only read two books which is the lowest number I ever hit in a month. The good news is that I got a pretty good haul including an ARC which I haven’t had in a long time, and is connected to some really good news that I can’t wait to share with you all! I don’t want to announce the goods news yet so you will have to wait and see, but I will give you a small hint: it’s got something to do with the ARC for Tell the Wind and Fire that I received from Random House Canada! And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

So let’s start with the books I read which includes a very popular YA contemporary story told in two parts, each shared by a brother and sister who tells their own story in different times. I’ll Give you the Sun definitely lives up to its hype, which is rare of me to say as I have read books that are the opposite, but this one was different. The writing style was poetic and the way the story was split so that Noah tells the early years and Jonah the later years is so awe inspiring that when they found their way back to each other, the story came together and ended beautifully. I really enjoyed this book and I will be posting my review of it soon.

The other book I read was actually a reread so I’m not sure if I should count it in my February wrapup. I participated in The Darker Shade of Magic readalong on Twitter where we had Monday chats with @fictionfare and @avidreaderblog. This was in celebration of A Gathering of Shadows which is another book I hauled last month. I had loads of fun with the Twitter chats and hanging out with fellow Schwab fans and talking about all things related to Kell/Rhy, the unique world of Red London, and the feisty female pirate Delilah Bard who unsurprisingly was the topic of conversation in almost every chat. My only regret was not being there for the Q&A with VE Schwab because I was sick and didn’t have the strength to twitter away with everyone else, so that was pretty bad.

IMG_0357

As for my haul which includes a paperback edition of Cinder which I was surprised to purchase as I’m not a huge fan of sci-fi, but I’m an open-minded person willing to try out new reading material, so I decided to pick this one up. I also got another Agatha Christie novel to add to my collection: The Dumb Witness, a Hercule Poirot story, and of course one of the most anticipating new sequels I’ve been waiting for this year: A Gathering of Shadows which I hope to read really soon this month!

So that’s all I have in my February haul and wrapup and hopefully, my next wrapup would be promising and with a lot more reading done too!

2 thoughts on “February Bookhaul + Wrapup:

Leave a Reply

