Stacking the Shelves #5: Authors for Indies Edition

IMG_0188 copy

Today is a special edition of Stacking the Shelves! Last weekend I spent my Saturday visiting my favorite independent bookstore in celebration of Authors for Indies Day. What is Authors for Indies Day you ask? It is a special day when authors show their love and appreciation for independent bookstores (indies) by volunteering as guest booksellers for one day. As a customer you have the opportunity to meet local authors and they share with you their favorite book recommendations, and maybe you could share your recommendations with them too, or you could buy a book or two and get to know your neighborhood bookstore.

Authors are doing this to raise awareness of indie bookstores as they are very important in our community. So if you missed Authors for Indies this year, make sure to follow @Authors4Indies on Twitter so you don’t miss out next year and show your local bookstore a little love!

My Day at Book Warehouse

So now that I told you about Authors for Indies, let me show you what books I got yesterday from Book Warehouse, one of my favorite indie bookstores in Vancouver!

IMG_0544

Yesterday they had the day planned complete with poetry reading, local author appearances, refreshments, and kittens! That’s right nothing attracts the attention of booklovers then inviting kittens from the Vancouver Orphan Kitten Rescue! Along with draw prizes and trivia and an exclusive Neil Gaiman Coloring Book with drawings by Chris Riddell, you can only imagine how fun it was at Book Warehouse yesterday. If only I was a part of that fun. Wait WHAAAT?!

Yes I did go to Book Warehouse yesterday anticipating kittens and all the excitement, except…I came too early. Yes you read that last sentence right! I came too early! It turns out the celebrations didn’t officially start until after 1pm with local authors scheduled to appear at around 3 to 4pm, and I walked into the bookstore at around 11am. Soooo I came to the party too early, I could have stuck around until the kittens arrived at least, but I had other plans that afternoon. Instead I decided to make the most of my time and take advantage of the store’s discounts leaving with a bag full of titles recommended by staff. So the day wasn’t entirely wasted!

 

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

I love reading books about books, bookstores, and people who just love the written word. There are a few books that have a special place in my heart that share how reading can change a character’s life in the most unexpected way. So when I first heard about this title and read the synopsis, I knew I had to get my hands on it.

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

I picked up this book by chance after I saw the stunning photographic cover. The synopsis sounds really intriguing with the story set in Victorian England with a heiress who is about to be introduced to high society except for one problem: she stutters and yet she has this strange ability to mimic other people’s voices, thus earning her the nickname Mad Miss Mimic.

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro 

I’ve had this book in my Goodreads TBR since I first heard about it on Twitter. When I picked up the hardcover there was a tag with a written comment by a staff member who said that this was so much fun and was sad to see that it’s over! Sam who recommended the book has just as much love for modern Holmes and Watson stories like I do. I still have her tag inside my book and just looking at it again made me realize how Sam and I have so much in common already!

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

I once borrowed this book from the library but I never had the time to read it, so you can imagine how surprised I was when I found this hardcover for sale! And another staff member also recommended it too, who said that it was unlike any story she has read before. A mix of Victorian and Japanese culture rolled into one and with elements of steampunk as an English gentlemen discovers a mysterious timepiece, and meets with an equally mysterious watchmaker.

I was sad to have missed the festivities at Book Warehouse but I did find some really great titles for a bargain. I love going to Chapters Indigo like everyone else, but supporting your independent bookstore is a great way to show your support for local booksellers, while finding great titles for a bargain that you don’t often see at large retailers. So go out and explore your local bookstore!

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves #5: Authors for Indies Edition

  1. Visiting from Stacking the Shelves at Tynga’s Reviews. What a cool idea! (Authors for Indies) I’m sure Lexington has an indie bookstore or two, but that would probably be the closest. Another thought…”So many books, so little time!” 😉

    Here’s my ,a href=”http://backporchervations.blogspot.com/2016/05/monday-bookish-post-may-2-2016.html”>Stacking the Shelves for today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

