My Day at Raincoast Fall Preview!

Every book lover dreams of going to Book Expo America and Book Con, but thanks to Raincoast they invited me to an experience where I don’t have to travel too far so I can meet other book lovers and chat about upcoming new titles. Last Saturday, I went to my first ever book preview and it took place right here in Vancouver!

Let me start by saying a great big thank you to Raincoast for organizing this wonderful event and for inviting me to be a part of it all. The day was well spent meeting with fellow bookworms who love YA just as much as I do, and to top it off, I even got a chance to meet Eileen Cook, author of a new psychological thriller which is coming out next month. But before I go into detail about the day’s itinerary, let me show you the awesome book swag that I received thanks to Raincoast and their publishers.

IMG_0569

My swag included bookish items such as posters, bookmarks, postcards, and other marketing items, but most exciting are the ARCs! I was given Vessa and the Night, a fairytale retelling that I’m very anxious to read, Stealing Snow, a new series by Danielle Paige author of Dorothy Must Die, and the Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett, a contemporary YA that isn’t set to release until January 2017. I also requested another ARC for a new adult psychological thriller called Behind Closed Doors, a story of how a perfect marriage could also be a perfect lie. These titles were all presented during the preview and after hearing about each of their synopses, I am very excited to read them!

So now that you know what was included in my book swag, let me talk about my day at the book preview. I went to the preview at the Vancouver Public Library on Saturday May 7, and it was broadcasted live on Google + for anyone who couldn’t attend in person. The day started off with refreshments, a meet and greet with fellow book nerds, and once everyone settled down, our hosts from Raincoast began with a run through of new titles coming out later this year.

From contemporary to scifi, and fantasy to dystopian, there is a new book for everyone including anticipating sequels such as the fifth installment to the Throne of Glass series, Empire of Storms and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. Included were new debuts such as The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker, and recommended for scifi and dystopian diehards about a perfect society benefitted by genetic engineering, but are endangered by a revolutionary movement determined to outlaw their existence. Love reading about witches? Then get ready to travel to Los Lagos with Alex, a powerful bruja in Labyrinth Lost, where she tries to get rid of her magic during Death Day, until the ceremony backfires and she suddenly absorbs all the magic in her family. For a complete list of the titles that were previewed, see below.

The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker

Chasing Truth by Julie Cross

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

Girl on a Plane by Miriam Moss

The Cabin by Natasha Preston

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

Metaltown by Kristen Simmons

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

When the Moon was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

Nemesis by Anna Banks

The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia

Secrets in the Snow by Michaela NacColl

Speed of Life by JM Kelly

One was Lost by Natalie D. Richards

A Darkly Beating Heart by Lindsey Smith

We are still Tornadoes by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

After the preview, we were introduced to a special guest, Eileen Cook who talked about her new book With Malice which comes out in June 2016. Eileen lives in Vancouver so it was really exciting to meet a local author! In person she is really nice and funny, and the way she explained the concept behind the story and how her trip to Italy inspired her to write this new psychological thriller, made me feel more excited for her book! A girl wakes up from a hospital bed with no memory of the last six weeks in her life including the accident that killed her best friend. With stitches on her face and wearing a cast, Jill Charron discovers that she was involved in a fatal accident during her class trip to Italy, and sent home to be surrounded by lawyers and the press. Because maybe the accident wasn’t an accident, so Jill tries to piece back her life together from the last six weeks to find out what really happened in Italy. I’m really excited to read her new book as I love chilling stories, and it’s already receiving positive reviews on Goodreads which means that this is going to be one of the most anticipated new June releases!

IMG_0567

After Eileen Cook introduced her book, we had a brief group discussion were we chatted about YA trends, cross over genres, and recommended titles to share. It was a great time to mingle with fellow book nerds and bloggers as we got to know each other a little more and shared what we had in common. Overall, it was an amazing experience and I was completely happy that I had the opportunity to be a part of it all! I’m really looking forward to the new releases this year, and for next year’s fall preview with Raincoast Books!

2 thoughts on “My Day at Raincoast Fall Preview!

Leave a Reply

