May Wrap Up:

Hello everyone! How are you? As I am writing this I realized that I haven’t posted a monthly wrap up in a long time. The reason for that is because in the last months I was either too preoccupied with my full-time contract job or I haven’t read enough books in a month to post a wrap up. But this month I have read a handful of books to write a post about so that’s what I’m doing today!

This month was also my birthday but I didn’t receive any new books this year, which is just as well because I have way too many books. I think my friends have also caught on about my ginormous book collection after years of asking them to get me a book or an Indigo gift card that they decided to give me something else instead. I have no problem with this as it’s the thought that always counts and besides, I still got nice presents anyways!

Now back to my wrap up. May was a productive reading month as I was involved in the True Born blog tour with Raincoast Books, and I went to their Fall Preview in Vancouver. Aside from the amazing ARCs I received, I also read some pretty awesome books and I finished the month reading one of the most exciting steampunk stories. I’m so excited for this book and I recommend that more people read it because it is so underrated right now, and I cannot wait until the sequel comes out because there is no way that the story is done in book one. There just has to be a book two!! I’ve leave this book for last…

IMG_0664

I had so much fun with the True Born blog tour! There was an author Q&A with LE Sterling, and her debut book is highly recommended for dystopian and scifi fans. Her new book is going to be adapted into a television series which I think is really cool, and coincidentally my question for the Q&A was which actors should be cast as Lucy and Margot Fox, Nolan Storm, and Jared Price. Then I was in a mood for a espionage and romance reading so I picked up Love, Lies, and Spies from the library, except the story had more love, lots of lies, but less spies. I was a bit fooled by the synopsis as I thought this was going to be an action and adventure story with spies and traitors, but it was overshadowed by the romance between the unlikely pair of Juliana and Spencer Northam. Their romance is homage to Pride and Prejudice as well as the characters except Juliana is far more invested in her research with the ladybug than London seasons and marriage, and Spencer is actually a gentlemen secretly working with the War Office. I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a light romantic read.

After finishing A Gathering of Shadows, I began binge reading her other books including Vicious and The Archived. Both were bloody brilliant but I prefer Vicious because it was more of a nail bitter between these two guys: Victor Vale and Eli Ever playing a cat and mouse game as they were hunting each other until they finally met in a fight to the death! The plot was really intense, the characters were well played and the plot jumps between the past and the present so we can understand the character’s origins. The Archived was ok I just wished the world building didn’t take so long and for the plot to escalate until I was a quarter into the book. The characters were interesting enough to persuade me to keep reading, and the ending was incredible! VE Schwab is the queen of cliffhangers because after what happened to Mac and her guyliner friend, Wesley I am convinced that the sequel is going to be just as intense!

After noticing Incarnate sitting on my shelf for over a year, I decided to finally pick up this book. But the story was so boring and I didn’t want to DNF since it was only 300 pages long. I also had a hard time liking the characters as they were so flat but the storyline sounded interesting because of the reincarnation concept, and a utopian society with dragons, sylphs and other mythological creatures. But even a dragon wasn’t enough to save the story as I still lost my touch with the plot and the characters that in the end, I just felt bored.

Lastly, I read Everland (saving the best for last!) Now if you’re a fan of steampunk and you love reading fairy tale retellings than I recommend this book! Fairy tale retellings are a hit and miss because some authors do a better job of it compared to others, but Everland was phenomenal! Based on the Peter Pan story in a dystopian world were London is invaded by German zeppelins, Gwen and her siblings Mikey and Joanna have survived through the aftermath of the attack and the Horologia virus. But Captain Hook is on the search for the cure even if it means kidnapping every child and putting them through lab tests. I loved everything from the characters, and the plot twists to that unbelievable cliffhanger! This is by far, one of the best steampunk stories I’ve read this year and I cannot wait to see the sequel. Goodreads doesn’t have the sequel yet but there has to be one as the inside pages say Book One, so there has to be a book two!

 

How was your May reading month? Read any interesting books? Feel free to share them in your comments!

Leave a Reply

