Top Ten Most Anticipated New Fantasy Releases for the Second Half of the Year:

Top Tuesday banner

It feels good to be back again! Excuse me for the hiatus as I have been preoccupied, but now I’m back and ready to do another Top Tuesday! Talking about new releases is one of my favorite subjects because there are so many new fantasy books that are coming out later this year, including new titles that have been hyped about all over the Internet even before Book Con and BEA! You will notice some titles that have been repeatedly talked about over the last months, but I’ve also included new sequels and debuts that I’m looking forward to get my grabby hands on!

Top Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish and here are the top ten new fantasy releases that I can’t wait to come out!

1. Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine

I LOVED the first book Ink and Bone. It was like Harry Potter meets Fahrenheit 451. If you love reading about ancient libraries and knowledge controlled by the unknown where keeping copies of books are illegal, then I recommend starting this series. I cannot wait for this sequel to come out in July!

2. The Savage Song by Victoria Schwab 

HUGE FAN! After finishing A Gathering of Shadows, I have been on a winning streak reading all her books including her earlier works, and I’m not about to break that streak when her new book comes out!

3. Red Queen by Christina Henry

The sequel returns with Alice and Hatcher on a quest to find his daughter. But after escaping the Jabberwocky, the Rabbit, the Cheshire, and the Caterpiller they still finds themselves under the clutches of another villain, the mad White Queen. This series is more horror then it is fantasy and the last book, Alice had me screaming in terror but now I cannot wait to follow Alice and Hatcher again as they go down another rabbit hole to face more terrors outside the Old City.

4. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling 

IT’S FREAKING HARRY POTTER!

5. Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

When I heard that Ransom Riggs was coming out with a collection of short stories inspired by the peculiar series, I knew I had to get this wonderful illustrated hardcover. I’m also excited to watch the movie this year too! 

6. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco 

This is more of a horror story than fantasy as it’s based on one of history’s most famous and notorious serial killers. But what I like is how the main character is a daughter of a wealthy and privileged family in London, and underneath the high society life is a girl with a keen interest in forensic science. The storyline sounds deliciously entertaining, and I have never read a story based on Jack the Ripper so I’m very excited to read this horrifying tale! 

7. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter 

I first heard about this title at Raincoast’s Fall Preview in which I also received the ARC for. You might have heard me mention before that I love reading fairy tale retellings so when I heard that this story is set in the kingdom of Brooklyn, with a witch called Babs Yagg who works at a convenience store, and a girl named Vassa who inherits her mother’s gift filled with a magic, I knew I had to read this! The story is inspired by the Russian folktale Vassilissa the Beautiful (which I’ve never heard of) but I’ve always had an interest in Russian folklore. 

8. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

It feels likes years since I’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone that I’m looking forward to dive back into another world of Gods and men, but with a young librarian, a dreamer, alchemy and monsters! This sounds like a wonderful story.

9. Aerie by Maria Dahvana Headley

The sequel to Magonia which had me scratching my head for awhile as I remember describing it as one of the strangest stories I’ve read about feathered people riding on pirate ships and a girl with a bird inside her chest that made it hard for her to breath on Earth. It was still an enjoyable read because the plot was so unique, as well as the writing style. Words would drip out of the page emphasizing drama and emotion. I can’t wait to see what happens to Aza Ray. 

10. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I don’t need an explanation for this one except that I need to start reading her Cinder series. Yes, I probably make up the few people who haven’t started her books yet.

 

What books are you waiting for?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated New Fantasy Releases for the Second Half of the Year:

  1. There are so many on this list that I can’t wait for but especially Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and Strange the Dreamer! It’s going to be a wonderful 6 months for fantasy! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

