Book Launch with Eileen Cook for With Malice:

Last Friday I spent the evening at Chapters Indigo in Metrotown to celebrate Eileen Cook’s book launch. This was my second time seeing her in person since the Raincoast Fall Book Preview last month, and to my surprise she still remembered me! I had the most exciting time at the event and was so happy to be a part of this experience. I love supporting local authors and as Eileen Cook is from Vancouver, I didn’t want to miss an opportunity of celebrating her new book this summer!

The evening started off with Eileen explaining how she came up with the idea of the story about a teenage girl waking up in a hospital bed with no recollection of her European trip. It was very interesting to hear how her personal experiences in Italy and studying brain injury, inspired her to write this psychological thriller. She had so much to share about her new book that it was really fascinating to learn how her story came together and how much time was spent writing it alone. This isn’t the first book that Eileen wrote; in fact I learned that she has written other titles but With Malice is unlike any book she has written. Fun fact: Eileen Cook is also teaching an online writing course at Simon Fraser University where I graduated from, which is so cool and it was nice seeing many her students at the event!

After the author Q&A there were giveaways handed out and then the event ended with her book signing. I wasn’t sure what to say to her as this was my very first author event I have ever been to. I was trying to think of three things to say so that at least I didn’t come out as flabbergasted then I already was. When it was finally my turn, we shared a hug after she remembered me and by the time I admitted how much I loved reading her book, it was smooth sailing as Eileen and I had a nice chat together like we were old friends. She is really nice in person and it was so nice to see her again! I even asked what her new book was going to be, and she was very vague with the hints so we will have to wait and see for more details when her next book comes out!

Eileen admitted that she deliberately wrote the ending that way and she wasn’t planning on writing a series, which makes total sense now. Last week when I posted my review, I was confused whether the ending was supposed to be vague and if it was up to us to decide if the truth behind Simone’s murder was real or not. I was so torn that I wasn’t sure whether to accept the ending as the real truth, but I finally learned that Eileen meant for her readers to feel this way and to decide for themselves how we see the truth.

with malice book signing

Out of all the excitement of meeting Eileen Cook again, I completely forgot to ask for a photo! But the most memorable experience out of this was the hug and her signing my book! It was an incredible and fun night and I was so glad to be a part of it. I can’t wait to see her next book!

 

Leave a Reply

