My day at Raincoast Winter/Spring Teens Reads Preview!

IMG_0920.JPG

Last weekend was the best weekend ever! I will always say that when I’m attending Raincoast Books Teens Read Preview. Raincaost Books holds this preview twice every year for Spring/Fall and Winter/Spring. And as you guessed, Raincoast does a preview for each new book that’s coming out in YA and middle grade. For someone who doesn’t attend BEA or BookCon, this is a really great opportunity to see what new books are coming out to add to my never ending TBR, while chatting with other bloggers and readers and sharing our love for all things YA. In this preview, I met up with another girl reading Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series. Now if you’ve been following my blog you will know already that I’m a huge fan of her series except for Custard Protocol which I didn’t enjoy as much as I hoped. Nevertheless, she’s one of my favorite and only steampunk writers, and I was absolutely thrilled when I met another fan! Her name is Nafiza and you can follow her on Twitter @Nafizaa.

So the theme for this preview was Caraval a new debut series by Stephanie Garber. You’ve probably seen the book floating around as people have received their ARCs and I was going to sneak one inside my swag bag but they were all gone! I was bummed out but at least there will be a blog tour next year so I might still have a chance. Anyways to celebrate, the folks at Raincoast decorated the room with balloons and refreshments which included cupcakes to match the colors of the cover. I was almost late for the preview so I only had time to grab a drink and find a seat among the ladies.

After everyone settled down, the preview began with each member from Raincoast sharing all the new YA releases that are published next year. There were quite a few that I heard from cyberspace but I was shocked to hear about new titles by authors that I haven’t heard from a long time. Including Benjamin Alire Saenz! Remember Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe? Well lo and behold, he’s coming out with a new book! Who knew?! So you can imagine how excited I was when I heard about The Inexplicable Logic of my Life which I automatically added to Goodreads and will autobuy this book in March 2017.

Marissa Meyer fans will also be happy to hear that she’s coming out with a new graphic novel illustrated by Douglas Holgate. Called Wires and Nerve Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a new story about Iko including appearances by Cinder and the Raption crew. From what I heard, the author has been planning on doing a graphic novel for a long time and as someone who has started the series and fell in love with Cinder, I’m totally looking forward to this one!

If you’re a fan of Mulder and Scully and have been following the X Files since the TV show came out, then you will be surprised to hear that authors, Kami Garcia and Jonathan Maberry are coming out with The X Files Origins. Garcia will be publishing The X Files: Agent of Chaos and Maberry with Devil’s Advocate. Both books will be following the teen years of Mulder and Scully with Agent of Chaos in Fox Mulder’s POV and Devil’s Advocate in Maberry’s POV. Both books will be coming out in January 2017. If you’re wondering what’s new in YA contemporary, Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall sounds promising with an agoraphobic and OCD character name Norah who struggles to face her demons until she meets her neighbor, Luke. It sounds like a cute love story so if that’s something that you’re in to, you can grab your copy in January 2017.

img_0916

So those were just a few of the new titles previewed. After that we finally got a chance to see our honored guest come up and talk about her new book. She’s a best selling author, her last book came out in August, and her Remnant Chronicle books have been on the NYT bestselling list before. Ok you’ve probably guessed it: Mary E Pearson! She went on about her last book The Beauty of Darkness and how The Remnant Chronicles came to be. She talked about what inspired her to write, advice on writing, and how she became a writer. It was really inspiring to hear her talk about her experience. Afterwards with some time remaining, the rest of us bloggers and readers talked about what we’re currently reading, our favorite book of the year, and YA trends. The day wrapped up nicely when we all took a group photo with Raincoast.

The whole day was entertaining and it felt so fulfilling to meet other bloggers and fans that I’m totally looking forward to future Teen Reads Previews with Raincoast Books!

PS: I forgot to mention that each participant received a swag bag, here is what I got in mine

img_0918

Leave a Reply

