News and Updates

I’M BAAACK (and other updates)

Hello all,

During these difficult times, it’s hard to find ways to preoccupy yourself when you’re self isolating and distancing yourself from other people. And with the reports and cases you hear in the news and social media everyday, it can be really stressful. These past two weeks alone has given me anxiety as I try to limit myself from going outside except when I have to work. But the challenge of isolating myself when I’m not working is that I get bored easily. One thing that’s help me get through this is knowing that everyday when I am limiting myself to go outside, I am doing it for my mom and her health. We all have to make compromises but we are doing it for ourselves, our family, friends, and our neighbours, so let’s all try to be kind and work together on supporting one another.

In a positive outlook, I’ve started reading books again. Not just manga, although I’ve been alternating between reading manga series this past months, but I’ve also received unsolicited advanced reading copies from Raincoast Books. I’m currently reading an ebook Dark Skies which after I received my copy, I later found out in Goodreads that it is a sequel to a new YA series. I haven’t read the first book and yet I’m already reading the sequel. I feel weird telling the publisher who sent me the ARC to take it back because they already sent it to me so I guess I will be reviewing this with no knowledge of the events in the first book. Raincoast Books also sent me a physical advanced reading copy of The Circus Rose with is a short read and a standalone. It reads like a middle grade story and because it’s only over 260 pages long it shouldn’t take long for me to finish.

So yes, I’m back to reading books again! I’m pretty excited with this new development and I am glad I managed to ease my way into reading books again and not just 5 straight months of reading manga (although that also counts as reading and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!) That’s all I wanted to share with anyone who is following me at the moment. I hope everyone else out there is keeping it together during these uncertain times but I really believe that this will be over and we can return back to our normal lives again.

Stay safe and healthy everyone.

Leave a comment